Flat Pedals & Fish

My weather report read 56* at 8:30 a.m. yesterday. What?! My first thought was “Fall? You’re here? Already?”, followed by “I get to wear my Long Sleeve bike shirt!”. Nothing like a taste of Autumn for a morning ride with the lovely Ashley.

Confession: I rode with my flat pedals. No clip-in shoes or pedals. Old school style.

This being only my second ride since the mishap, I’m still not 100% comfortable in those attachments. Riding with a new friend, on new city streets did not seem like the ideal time to gather my ego back and test out my skills.

It did seem like the time to remember how fun it is to cruise on a trail for 2o miles!
(Photos courtesy of a sweaty blackberry camera, pardon the blur)

LoDoTrail

Colorado, you have my heart. Water, you are too cold for today.

LoDoTrail.2

REI, you are enormous. What is in there?! Curiosity piqued.

LoDoTrail.3

Ashley and I shared a Carrot Cake Larabar (first-timer here…YUM), sipped some h2O, and rode on! We ended up back at her house after 23 miles (90 min) and I wasted no time planning Bike-Date number Dos. 😉

******

We may not eat meat around here, but an occasional grocery store splurge lands two MahiMahi steaks in the freezer (or Salmon!). Said steaks were defrosted, meaning the fridge was ready to spit them out (don’t leave fresh fish alone for too long!), and the Broiler was ready to heat them up!

Mahi Mahi Steaks with Rice & Beet Tops

Mahimahi 004

Photo courtesy: D the Mahi chef!

For the steaks: drizzle with olive oil, season with black pepper & cumin, broil for 3 min on one side, flip for 2 min on the other side.

Cook rice first, as it takes the longest. Meanwhile, set the oven to broil, and heat 1 tbsp Olive oil over medium. Sauté chopped yellow peppers (or vegetable of your choice!); once soft, toss in the Beet tops (yes, they’re edible!). Drizzle with a little extra oil if needed, and salt/pepper to taste.

Mahimahi 002

Protein: MahiMahi
Carbs: Rice
Fat: Olive oil

How do you like your fish? Did you know you could cook the tops of beets?

It was new info to us (thank you, Farmer’s Market!)! I’d definitely have these again, though I do recommend removing the stems. Oops. 🙂

15 Comments

Filed under bike rides, dinners, meetups, recipes, weather love

15 responses to “Flat Pedals & Fish

  1. Yay!! Love that photo of us. Too cute 😉 I will admit my butt is quite sore today, lol. I’m not sure why though…I usually do that ride twice a week. Strange. I haven’t had fish in forever…that looks quite tasty!

  2. Awesome bike ride!!! That water looks sooo nice!

    I had no idea you could eat beet tops! Do they have a beet-y taste?

  3. 1. I totally missed your crash! Holy crap girl, glad you’re ok!
    2. Great job getting back out there, even if its old schoolin’
    3. I now want mahi steaks for dinner. Mmmmm

  4. i adore that REI! you guys are so cute!

  5. I love fish and Billy is great at cooking it so I’m a lucky girl! I think my favorite has to be salmon. Don’t know about the beets. BUT I do know that Colorado is so beautiful! Blurry blackberry pics and all. 🙂

  6. Officially jealous of this ride, how fun. Wow, these pics are great.

    Sometimes it’s good to “un-clip” you relax a lot more:)

  7. Lacey

    mmm mahi mahi looks DEEELISH!!! what a fun ride. and i LOVE the blurry photos! i think the effect is softening and makes them look so pretty. 🙂 your b.berry takes seriously great photos. super convenient!

  8. I’ve ridden a mountain bike for years, with cages on the pedals. Lately I’m considering a road bike, but seriously doubt I’ll use clips – it’ll be flat pedals for me! The idea of being “that” attached to my bike terrifies me. Especially as alot of my riding is in traffic.

  9. Just found your blog! I was in CO a couple of weeks ago and saw that REI–enormous!

  10. Perfect timing… I just put some Mahi in the fridge to cook tonight or tomorrow. I didn’t have a clue how to cook it. 😉

  11. I just recently got covers for my pedals (don’t know what they are actually called) but I slip my feet into them but DON’T clip in. It was nervewracking enough for me. Don’t know if I’ll ever be brave enough to clip in!

    Colorado IS beautiful! So jealous 🙂

  12. What a beautiful ride! And I have to say I’m thrilled fall is almost here!

Let's Hear It!

