Stepback and Start Meatless

Marathon training’s “Stepback Week” #2 started with an Easy 7 miler this morning. In full anticipation of becoming restless with that distance, as I see it across the days on my plan, I have a game to play with those miles.

Each day reads “easy”; no Tempo miles, no repeats, no Long Run. As I continue to adjust to the altitude and keep reaching for the pace I left behind in Sea-level (but humid) DC, I hesitate to take yet another week with the slow pace. Instead, I will happily take it easy for six miles. That lucky number seven will use up most of what’s left in my tank.

Why just “most”? There is a reason for a Stepback week! This is ideally when your muscles recover a little bit; they restore glycogen used up in LR after LR and they build back up tissues that are damaged by the weekly grind.

All of that being said, this morning went according to plan! I started with a sluggish 9:22 (wondering if I left my energy in the Mint Room? Or maybe with a Summer’s Day Ale? Hm.), rounded out the middle miles with 8:40s, and ended with 7:16. Mission accomplished! Sevens, you won’t be so bad.

******

In other news, Mondays start the week with a Meatless trend – are you following?

As most of you know, all of our meals are meatless (there is an occasional egg or fish sighting), so it’s no shocker this one followed suit. 🙂

Basil Spinach & Tempeh Pasta

meatlessmonday 003

2 cups Fresh Baby Spinach Leaves
1/4 cup Fresh Basil Leaves
1/4 cup Purple Onion, diced
1 serving Tempeh, cut into 1/2 inch cubes (
optional substitute: Tofu)
1 tbsp Olive Oil
2 svgs Sundried Tomato Pasta Noodles
1/2 cup Marinara Sauce
Salt, Pepper, Oregano
1/4 cup Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

Makes 2 servings. Boil water and cook noodles. In a separate sauté pan, heat olive oil on medium heat. Add onions & tempeh, sauté until tender. Add spinach leaves, basil, salt, pepper & oregano. Heat until all are cooked through & seasoned (spinach is cooked down). Drain noodles, add to the sautéed mixture and mix in remaining ingredients.

The cheese should stir in until melted. Optional: Top with grated parmesan!

Protein: Tempeh, Cheese
Carbs: Noodles
Fat: Cheese, Olive oil

If there anything better than freshly cooked noodles and vegetables surrounded by a warm melted cheese, I don’t want to know about it! 

What’s your favorite Meatless Dish?

18 Comments

Filed under dinners, easy days, following the schedule, food, Meatless Monday, recipes, training

18 responses to “Stepback and Start Meatless

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    yes DC is humid and if you run after 7AM it’s going to be hard.
    I had meatless monday too, not purposely, just happened. I think i really prefer vegetarian meals over meat by nature. 🙂

  2. I am a Meatless Monday gal and last week I made the most delicious black bean and rice enchiladas. I tend to like things with a Mexican flair for Meatless Mondays because there’s so much flavor in the cooking.

  3. i love black bean & sweet potato burritos…they’re SO good and super filling!

  4. Stepback, isn’t that a movie? Oh wait, that’s Step It Up, haaa.

    I just picked up Morning Star starters that are meatless mix-ins, oddly enough. Dying to try it!

    • Heather C

      Most Morning Star products get a “thumbs Up” from this household! The ingredient list is a little long, but they are usually tasty.

  5. That pasta dish looks so good. I’ve been on a pasta kick lately. Most of my dishes are meatless but I love anything with lentils + hummus or black beans +avocado.

  6. Lacey

    i never commented on yesterday’s post… did i? i read it, but i don’t think i did b/c i would have said…

    I WAS THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 not when you were obvi, but YAY MINT ROOM! i looooooooooooved celestial!!!!!!! a really great place to visit 🙂

    and woo woo meatless 🙂 i’ve got that one covered yo! hehehe. i wonder… are they including fish?

    • Heather C

      Haha, the Mint Room was crazy! Our tourguide literally said “I don’t go in there b/c it makes me cry.” Everyone laughed, and then we went in. OH.

      I’m not sure if the Meatless trend includes Fish?! But you can if You want to. 🙂

  7. Way to keep things interesting during your stepback week; must have been a great feeling to push it on the final mile.

    Meatless Monday… I could get on board with that! I don’t eat a lot of veg dishes, but I’m coming around. This one looks yummy!

  8. that looks delish sans spinach ofcourse 🙂 🙂

    keep up the great work of marathon training 🙂

  9. Elizabeth

    While you know that truly meatless would never fly with us, that does look delicious. I wonder sometimes if I could ever sneak it in…

  10. Jen

    Meatless Monday huh? I should start doing that in our house!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  11. Where do you get sundried tomato pasta? Sounds awesome. I’m meatless but have never tried tempeh. It scares me. Yet I love tofu. Odd?

  12. I moved from sea level to Colorado the second week of August, and I definitely feel you on the whole “slower pace” thing on my long runs. I still haven’t been able to get them back where to the pace I could do them back in New England…sigh….maybe one of these days, I’ll get my “speed” (for lack of a better word…lol…I am NOT a fast runner by any means) back into my life.

  13. Pingback: The Dish on “Meatless Monday” « Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

