Support Each in their Own

I told myself to turn around at mile 1.5 so I would run absolutely no longer than 3 easy (i.e. no hills, no sprints, no extra miles). Soon afterward, two bikers passed me very slowly. “Really? I’m almost running faster than that.”

Another quarter mile up, they were stopped for water. I passed them.

Then they slowly passed me. Fun game, no? Another half mile up? You guessed it, water stop. And another slow pass as they got going again.

Confession: I found myself a little irritated with this game. I found myself thinking, you have wheels, you should moving a little faster than my feet. Then I found myself feeling guilty for said thoughts.

I ran back into them (almost literally, whoa) in the neighborhood. The woman smiled and said “Well honey, you’re just running circles around us, aren’t ya?” Laughing, smiling back, I assured them I was not, and hoped they were having fun. Who was I to almost judge two people outside, enjoying themselves on a bike (at whatever pace they choose), doing what works for them?

Lesson learned: Any kind activity is important, and we should all find ways to enjoy that  recommended 60 minutes* of exercise daily. Supporting our active community – being that nice and friendly rider, runner or hiker – could make a difference in someone’s attitude. So, couple-on-your-mountain-bikes, I hope your ride was just as enjoyable as my run!

What exercise do you choose to do?

*Fun Fact: The average American only gets 17 minutes of exercise per day.

******

Post-run lunch tested my Lemon Basil & Vegetable Salad from yesterday, with roasted chickpeas.

Confession: I’ve wanted to roast chickpeas for months. I finally did, and the crunch was worth every impatient oven minute!

8.19 004

Italian Seasoned Roasted Chickpeas

Pinch of: Rosemary, Thyme, Garlic Powder
1 tsp Olive Oil
1/2 cup Chickpeas (rinsed)
Salt, Pepper

Heat oven to 450*, roasted for 20-30 minutes, until desired “crispness”. I’m impatient, mine were in there for 18 minutes and they were perfect.

8.19 005

With a side of fresh juicy summer peach, from the Farmer’s Market.

8.19 003

*****

After lunch, I met up with Ashley from The Edible Perspective for walk around her neighborhood in Denver. No “first date” awkwardness here! This girl is so fun, it was the perfect afternoon break.

8.19 006

We saw walkers, bikers, stroller-pushers, tennis players, etc. Washington Park, thanks for the huge bike and walk lanes with surrounding trees & grass, I have a crush on you and I’ll be back soon. 😉 Wash Perk, thanks for the much-needed coffee & Apple Pie Larabar.

19 Comments

Filed under about me, easy days, lunches, meetups, pictures, recipes, things that make me Happy, training

19 responses to “Support Each in their Own

  1. aren’t roasted chickpeas the best? i like to roast them and take them to the movies instead of popcorn 🙂

  2. Elizabeth

    Those food photos are fantastic – you must have a great camera! (With lots of memory!)

    Seriously, though, glad you had a good, easy run. And I still sometimes think the same thing about bikers, with the wheels and whatnot.

  3. Aw, that’s sweet! I think it’s easy to judge people sometimes without realizing it (“jeez, they are slow”; “why is he running like that?”; “what is she wearing?” etc. ) … but we catch ourselves and realize, hey! we are all out here doing our thang and that rocks! 🙂

    YUMMMMM to the roastie chickpeas. Must try…

  4. I like this topic – was thinking about it this morning – some people sneer at larger folks at the gym – I always wanna give ’em a big fist pump for getting in there and doing something. but it’s easy to get frustrated, too, when it slows you down. good on you, girl. and 17 minutes? whew!

    your salad looks yum! 🙂

  5. It’s so easy to judge people like this. Whenever I see a bigger person running, I feel like my initial thought it “wow, it must be so hard for them.” and then I ALWAYS try to stop myself and think, “Wow, GOOD FOR THEM for defying the odds and working so hard to do something like this.” We paint this picture that fit people are only thin and muscular when really, any shape can be in shape! 😉

    Glad you met Ashely. What a sweet girl!

  6. 17 minutes? Doesn’t seem like much, but better than nothing.

  7. just discovered your blog the other day…so nice to meet another dietitian! 🙂

    i’m really hoping to move to the denver area and work in the area of eating disorders. i love the outdoors am very pro green-living, so i think it’d be a great fit. how do you like CO so far?

  8. Wow-I’m SO not the average american in many repects.LOL!
    I just read the average american eats 40 lbs of high fructose corn syrup a year—GROSS!
    I’m totally below average on that one. Totally above average on the exercise-thanks mostly to my job! I get to walk to parks,play with kids, and swim with them!
    So fun 🙂

  9. Lacey

    agreed about the support!! smiles for all 🙂 although that 17 minutes is probably not super accurate considering there are some endurance athletes who skew the data. i would guess that far more americans who are “average” get ZERO minutes of exercise a day. but maybe that is me just being pessimistic about “us” ? hopefully the majority are being active + getting more so.

    i have been to Wash Park!!!! on my first denver trip when i went to run the half 🙂

  10. Lol I’ve totally done the leapfrog thing with other runners before. It can be kind of fun for awhile and then just get annoying haha. But you’re right, we need to make activity FUN so more people will do it! ONLY 17 minutes a day is just not acceptable!!

  11. I love how your perspective changed with the bikers – I’ve probably been on both sides. 🙂 Roasted chickpeas are delicious and so satisfying. I want to hang out with you and Ashley! Maybe Billy and I will move to Colorado – who knows?

    • Heather C

      I think we both know that would be a perfect fit for you two! Come join the CO crew – even if its just for a few months 😉

  12. So glad we finally got to meet! There was definitely not a shortage of things to talk about =) I have experienced very similar thoughts to what you posted above. When I bike at the park 50% of the time I am HIGHLY annoyed b/c people can’t follow directions on which path they should be in and which way they should be going. But then I think….at least they’re out moving their bodies!!

  13. Yeah, i found myself judging a bit last week when I was running the 18.5 miles and i passed an older lady on a bike. But hey, she was moving and that’s the important part. Some are just a bit slower than others. I’ve tried the roasted chickpea thing and wasn’t much a fan. I guess they just tasted kinda dried out. But always fun to try new variations.

  14. Wow 17 minutes .. that’s crazy. I wonder if it’s the same sort of statistic for Canadians (hmm), mostly likely lol.

    Your salad looks delicious : )

  15. Kassi

    Hmm. Maybe this is silly — are these precooked chickpeas?

    Also, I had a similar experience while on my ‘run’ this morning. I’m doing a training plan to run a 10k (I’m not a runner!) and usually nobody is on the trail when I go out. Today, there were A TON of people. Except it was the opposite, they were all passing me. I caught myself being intimidated by it and had to tell myself things like ‘yeah, well you’re out here trying!’ and ‘you’ll be that fast if you keep it up! it just takes time’. It worked (well, maybe it was just that they eventually were out of my field of view) and eventually I was laughing at myself for even getting worked up about it.

  16. any exercise is better than none at all! 🙂

Let's Hear It!

