Healthy Living Summit Recap!

Whoa, it’s been a weekend.

HELLO. There are quite a few new reader-friends around here, don’t be shy 😉 Sit down, get comfortable, say hi and/or leave your link!

I had a great time at HLS – huge kudos to Meghann, Kath, Caitlin, Tina & Heather – it was very well planned, well attended, and well sponsored (holy swag bag – my returning suitcase counts as my strength training for the week)!

Our ‘net connection was a little spotty, so updates were left to Twitter on the bb. Back home in the Rockies, here’s an all-in-one recap, phot0-style…

*****

Friday: Arrival, Chicago exploring, OpenSky Cocktail Fiesta…

Welcome to the Congress Plaza Hotel!
Go across the street, it’s gorgy…

Hi, Anne P! I missed this chick. We need more cross-country visits.

*******

Saturday: HLS Day! Rebecca and I presented, and had an awesome time talking Sports Nutrition (as usual!).

(photo courtesy of Anne P!)

Our newest RD friend, Kath, grabbed a photo of the three of us. She has a Homemade Sports Drink recipe that is next on my list of things-t0-try while training. Thrifty: check. New: check. Tasty:….I’ve heard good things. 😉

The sessions I sat in on: Anne P‘s “Ups & Downs of Pressing Publish” panel, Nicole’s Photography Basics, Chandra‘s tips for Strength Training, and Caitlin & Gena‘s “Stop Staing Over Your Shoulder”.

A few of the peeps I met in the process (finally!):


Chat-tastic Nicole! Who was temporarily mute…
Hope that voice returns quickly 😉

Dorry! Who joined us later for some dinner adventures, too…

If Soft Pretzels are on the menu, that means they
quickly land on my table. YUM.
Luckily I had diners willing to share!

With a Summer Ale, to match.


Salmon Salad and fun company:

Me, Rebecca, Dorry & Jen

*****

Sunday: 6 mile morning & Chi-town exploring.

(another “stolen” photo, Thanks Anne! 😉 )

All those up for running or walking met in the lobby at 8 a.m. We ended up with ~6 miles, run along the lake on a trail/bike path. Chicago, nicely done. That is perfect for some distance and scenery.

Refuel with breakfast: check! Explore Chicago and find that BEAN: Check!

Sometimes we run at the bean.

Sometimes we get up close to the bean.

Sometimes we cuddle the bean.

Sometimes, I marvel at how the bean makes Chicago’s Skyscrapers look.

Sick of the bean? Switch it up!

Chickpeas, at Argo Tea, took its place, during a lunch date with Dorry, Danielle, Anne, Katy & Megan!

Followed by Froyo, obviously.

Anne & I had a mission: we never fail to find Frozen Yogurt.

*****

Now: I’m finally back home in Colorado, and calling it a night.

Thanks for the memories, meetups, tasty eats, great speakers, explorations and miles, Chicago!

32 Comments

Filed under food, meetups, new things!, pictures, things that make me Happy, weekends

32 responses to “Healthy Living Summit Recap!

  1. The HLS looked like a blast! I’ve been to Chicago once before, and I love taking pictures at/with the bean too 🙂

  2. Yay! Looks like a great time! I can’t wait to watch your panel when it’s online 🙂

  3. Love love love these photos. Wish I could have been there to finally meet you! Next year 🙂

  4. Great recap! Did they record your session on sports nutrition? I would love to hear your advice!

  5. I just wanted to say great job on the session! I really learned a lot.

  6. all of these pictures are awesome and look like so much fun, but that shot of the little girl in her bathing suit could REALLY not be any cuter! so fun!

  7. Great pictures. What a fun time in Chi Town!

  8. Definitely share the sports drink recipe!

    And seeing your pics and Anne’s makes me a little bit more excited about going to Chicago in October. I haven’t even given much thought to the trip, aside from that marathon I’m supposed to be running…

  9. welcome home. i bet you don’t miss the humidity! 😉
    oddly enough, it left when you did! it’s like zero humidity today-me likey.
    looks like you had a great time!

  10. PRECIOUS!!!! LOVE THIS POST. Well, expect that awful pic of me, eesh.

    You have a big fan over here. It was awesome meeting you in real-life. You’re beautiful and brilliant!

  11. Lacey

    great recap heather!! glad you had such a good time. congrats on your presentation and general weekend happiness 🙂

  12. We didn’t get to chat at HLS, but I loved your session! I put the great information to use right away and it helped me through 16 miles. Thanks! Glad you enjoyed Chicago as much as I did!

  13. Wish I was there! Will you be going to fitbloggin 2011 in Baltimore?

  14. It was so great meeting you this weekend! Despite the NO ac in the cab, it was great to catch up! Good luck at your Larabar interview this week!!!

  15. Would love to hear/see your presentation on sports nutrition!

  16. Elizabeth

    Again with the fro-yo…you never disappoint, my dear. Also, I just realized that we never did our DC fro-yo tour. Sad.

    Seriously, though, that looks like a great weekend. Glad you had fun!

  17. Great recap! I loved meeting you and I’m so glad we had a chance to really talk in the midst of all the action. I’m excited to keep up with you and hope to see you again sometime soon. 🙂

  18. Sounds like a fanTAStic weekend overall! Thanks for sharing. You are too cute.

  19. You are so warm and welcoming on your blog. I’m one of your newest readers 🙂 Sounds like it was a great time over there. Each year I always say that I’m going to go and I never do. Hopefully next year I will make it over there since I will be graduating in December!

  20. I heart youuuuu!!!!!

    (And the bean.)

  21. ooooh how fun. I wish I could’ve caught your presentation! and I do love chi town in a BIG way.

  22. sounds like a great weekend!!!! 🙂 love all the pics!

  23. Looks like a great time at HLS!

  24. You, Kath & I all have the same sparky grey dress — yay Tarjay!

    Love your bean pics : )

  25. The HLS looks like it was a blast!

    And your last picture of “the bean” is so good! The artist would be so proud. That’s exactly how he intended it- so that you could see the grass, the sky scrapers and the clouds all in one glance. I don’t know if I’ve seen one like that. Love love it 🙂

Let's Hear It!

