Small Victories, Fueled by a Big Burrito

I feel Good!

Just to get that out.

For the first time since The Move, I feel like my normal speed and fitness are coming back to me. I set out this morning without any expectations – my last run was 16 miles (hard), my  last bike ride ended in a little mishap (ouch), and I took yesterday and Sunday off because I could barely move my left arm and I’m not sure that bodes well for any exercise attempts.

Well, all that being said, this run was just what the {nonexistent} doctor ordered!

******

I woke up around 7:15, still feeling the aftermath of this life-sized burrito:

No, I couldn’t finish that stomach overload, otherwise known as a “Garden Fresco Burrito” from 3 Margaritas. I did get through half before officiallysitting back and staring at it, defeated.

On a side note, the fact that I can order “Green Chile Sauce” with my dish makes me so ridiculously excited. We are officially back in the Southwest!

Then, a reader-friend Rebekah came to meet up with us. Fun! It was so great to meet her, and in the middle of our chat-fest, D ordered triple-scooped ice cream. Oh, man.

“Stuffed” is an understatement. Fueled for a good morning-run? YES.

*****

While I intended to keep things around an easy 9:30 pace (monitoring the HR to maintain the “easy” part), my first mile beeped in at “9:00” exactly, to me and my HR’s surprise. Okay, roll with it…

To avoid exhausting the trail I found last Friday, I skipped it and finally tackled the hilly road ahead. It was a good half-mile climb, and I was surprised at how well my muscles reacted. Victory #1!

As miles quickly ticked by, I explored a new little area and finally found myself back on the trail to head in the direction of home. 9:00, 8:53, 8:43…

My wrist/elbow are definitely still aching, and I told myself if it became annoying and/or worrisome, I’d take it easy. As it turned out, I got used to it, and it actually kept my arm at that 90* position you’re supposed to keep anyway. 😉

Rather than taking the route well-known, I stayed on the trail to continue in the opposite direction and see where it led me. Adventurous running is always a welcomed distraction when you’re trying to add up the miles, Victory #2! I had Dierks Bentley going on and on in my earbuds and was thoroughly entertained by my music, scenery, low HR maintenance (finally!), and negative splits that weren’t breaking my oxygen tank. 8:30, 8:30, 8:30 – I can’t make this stuff up.

At mile 6 I decided to tack on one more, running halfway out before turning back to the ‘hood. Also, for old times’ sake (i.e. the days when I could still breathe at the end of a run), why not pick it up? Mile 7: 8:12, with a 6:50 m/m pace finish – Victory #3!

7 miles, 1:00:30, avg 8:38
avg HR – 170 (improvement!)

*****

Maybe I’ll use the second half of that burrito to fuel for tomorrow’s run? Clearly the carbs are loaded in there.

Mountains, I hope you’ve enjoyed holding onto that ego of mine. I’m slowly stealing it back!

14 Comments

Filed under adding the Hills, dinners, doin things My way, fabulous, meetups, things that make me Happy, training

14 responses to “Small Victories, Fueled by a Big Burrito

  1. hurray! that’s so awesome you had a great run…it’s hard to get conditioned but it’s great that you’re not giving up!

    and p.s. 3 margaritas burritos are insane. i used to be able to finish them, but no more!

    • Heather C

      I’m impressed that you could *ever* finish them! Maybe that’ll be a personal post-marathon challenge…haha 😉

  2. Yes! Just what you needed. That is one wicked run!

  3. Elizabeth

    A little country always helps with the miles. Way to keep conquering CO, lady.

  4. That burrito looks AH-MA-ZING!

    Good job on your run! I’m sure you and your body will adjust to the altitude in no time 🙂

  5. Glad you are taking it easy, but still kicking a**! CO is just unreal, it’s fun to follow you since I can’t be there in person to enjoy it, lol.

  6. haha, this was a great post! I love that the burrito defeated you! I really want to make enchiladas this week. Yum yum! That run sounds like you are getting back to your usual speedy self. Nice work!

  7. Such a great post! I’ve totally had that moment with food when I look at it and just cant move on. It’s so good so I want more bites, but my stomach just wont have it. And negative splits? Amazing. Congrats on getting your speed back…with a bad arm, no less!

  8. glad you got in a good run! sounds like life out west is perfect! 🙂

  9. Awesome run! You’d smoke your sea-level running buddies now that you’re acclimated! As your next post-run fuel, please get an Illegal Pete’s burrito (like Chipotle, but better, especially if you’re a poor, hungry college student). Bonus points for following it up with margaritas from the Rio on (or near?) Pearl Street.

  10. So glad you had a good run! Small victories are sometimes the most monumental 🙂
    I remember when I lived in Colorado and it took me SO long to get used to the altitude. We lived at about 9,000 feet above sea level and I tried to ride my bike down the road.
    I couldn’t even go a quarter mile. I was wiped out!

  11. Congrats on the great run! My parents live in Idaho, so I’m all too familiar with high altitude running effects!

    I just browsed through some of your previous posts, and it looks like your new home is in a gorgeous location! I love Colorado! Hope you’re enjoying it!

  12. carpeviam

    Hey! Loved meeting up with you during my visit back home. You’re acclimating quickly. Let’s plan a run when I’m back at the end of September. 😉

Let's Hear It!

