A Market, Crash, Backyard & Mango Black Bean Salad

Clearly too many things have gone on in the past 48 hours; a clever title summarizing the events escapes me.

Saturday morning, we ventured over to the Farmer’s Market in Boulder.

A little self control (resisting many purchases), and a Lot of free samples later, we walked away with fresh corn ears ($0.50 ea), a bag of Sweet Potato Empanadas (oh, yes), and a mix of Basil leaves that will find themselves in the form of Pesto very soon!

The bikes were packed in the car; we took them up to the Boulder Reservoir for an afternoon ride. There are tons of routes, loops, trails, etc that surround that area (running, riding, hiking, etc) – our 20 mile loop proved to be much more challenging to my post-LR legs than I anticipated. It was slow climbing and heavy breathing for this girl, on top of a few mini panic attacks as we road the highway to the country roads. Whew.

My ride was suddenly cut short; thanks to my first bike “crash”. I’m not sure my legs were disappointed, as they had little to no juice left. My ego, left elbow and wrist? They were left pretty bruised, but not broken.

What happened? We were approaching a busy intersection (Highway 36), having to make a left turn across traffic. D was a few feet ahead, assessing the situation – I was going back/forth between clipping out or not, coming up the hill to the stop and not knowing we could just keep rolling. He stopped, I couldn’t unclip, and tip…..I landed hard on my left side, and my bike landed hard on me. Ouch.

D sat with me on the side of the road to calm me down :), and decide whether anything was broken. As the shock subsided, the pain showed up. I couldn’t put any pressure on my left wrist/arm, so there was no way I could ride back. I felt pretty pathetic sitting there, but D insisted he ride ahead and get the car while I cooled off in the shade and let my arm rest. I went across the street; not a bad place to sit and wait, right?

Beautiful Scenery. Sad bike.

Once I knew there were no shattered bones floating around in my arm, I was just glad my first “crash” happened the way it did. Things could definitely be worse! Aside from the fact that my arm refused to bend more than 90* in either direction (i.e. no straightening, no further bending. It just sits right next to my torso, useless), I’m fine. Mobility has slowly returned over the last 48 hours, so no serious damage was done!

Moving on – we headed to Fort Collins! D was invited by his friend, and the Velo-One team, to join them on a 72 mi ride (“Pedal to the Point”, benefiting high risk youth in Ft Collins) Sunday morning.

******

Sunday afternoon, after they all survived the morning ride, we gathered in their backyard for another picnic with plenty of good eats and more fresh produce straight from the source!

I could camp out here for days. They have grape tomatoes, peaches, grapes, cucumbers, lettuce, zucchini, and flowers in bloom.

Our contribution to the food spread was a Black Bean & Mango Salsa Salad. The recipe came from Cooking Light, with a few changes to suit our taste buds. We also doubled the amounts to satisfy the crowd.

2 ripe Mangos, peeled and diced
2 cans Black Beans, rinsed
~1/4 cup fresh cilantro, minced
~1/2 cup Green Onions, sliced
~1/2 cup Fresh, Chunky Salsa
Salt, Pepper
1 cup Wild Grain Brown Rice, cooked
2 tbsp Olive Oil

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix together! Serve fresh or chilled.

Protein: beans, rice
Carbs: rice, beans, mangos
Fat: Olive oil

Fun Mango Facts: high in vitamins A & C, and providing ~3g of fiber per fruit. It is native to southern Asia, specifically Burma & eastern India. One medium sized Mango provides ~110 calories, and is fresh in season from May – September. Now is the prime time to seek out this colorful fruit; it’s a tasteful, sweet addition to salsa, marinades, and/or salads. For a healthy desert, top sliced mango with low-fat yogurt, ice cream or cool whip!

******

I skipped the Pulled Pork Sandwiches, but my plate was full of the other side dishes & fresh fruit, plus some protein in the form of a hardboiled deviled egg:

A brownie or two may have been added to that spread, leaving me and my bum elbow satisfied and full. ๐Ÿ™‚

******

Back to Monday, and all that training business!

26 Comments

Filed under bike rides, dinners, food, learning, new things!, Nutrition, recipes, weekends

26 responses to “A Market, Crash, Backyard & Mango Black Bean Salad

  1. oh wow, that sounds like quite the crash! have you had your arm checked out? hope it’s just sore and will be better soon!

    • Heather C

      We were staying w/ a couple in Ft. C that happen to be nurses, so I did get it “checked out”, in a sense. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ice + Ibuprofen have been working well.

  2. Lacey

    oh no!! i’m glad you are ok. bike crashes are REALLy scary. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    and YAY fort collins! yay farmers markets and cheap produce. and YAY beautiful pictures of it all ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Elizabeth

    I heard about this crash – I’m just glad you’re okay.

    Yet another reason why I’m waiting on the clips…

    So I guess it’ll be a little while longer before you join on those 72 mile rides?

  4. Oh no, sorry to hear about the crash. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Thank goodness you are okay and no major damage! At least you have that out of the way now.

    Yummy eats and gorgeous CO pics once again!

  5. Geez, what a way to start out your life in CO!! Sorry about the fall, glad nothing is broken or smashed…stay safe!!

  6. J

    Hope you are doing ok after the crash! So sorry to hear about that! That salad looks so good! I really want to make it now!

  7. First off, I’m glad you didn’t break anything on your fall. Now you know that it happens and life is still okay. And that mango black bean salad sounds delish! I picked up a bunch of fresh produce yesterday from a local farm. Yum yum!

  8. Oh no! This is why I’m scared of clipping in :S I don’t even want to have my first bike crash!!

  9. so sorry about your fall! i’m glad your okay!!! that food looks tasty! mmmm

  10. Saturday was a bad bike day for me, too – I had my first bike fall, too. (And I have a Cannondale, too.) Hope your arm feels better today!

  11. Wow I’ve never tried clips on a bike, but from what I’ve read in the blog world, they’re pretty intimidating! I’m happy to hear you’re okay.

  12. Yikes, sorry about the bike crash! The very first time I rode a bike with clips, the same thing happened to me…couldn’t unclip and down I went with the bike on top of me. I still have a scar on my leg! But the scar is an impression of the bike chain, so it looks kinda badass. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I am so glad you are OK, how scary!! I hate that for you. Your bike is still BEAUTIFUL, nice ride.

    I know you’ll be back on the saddle in no time.

  14. Yikes I’m glad you’re okay! I flipped headfirst off my bike once and jacked up my knee. It was scaaaary.

  15. I’ve had a crash like that before because of my pedals… Which is why now I’m terrified of red lights at the top of hills (it’s not like you can unclip and coast until you stop…)

    • Heather C

      I share those sentiments! This intersection was on a small hill – otherwise I probably would’ve done okay. Ah, well!

  16. egads. i’m sitting here with my “eeks” face on. i hope you are healing quickly. everyone said you fall once with clips – hopefully that’s a lifetime rule and you’re done with it now!

    and….all your food looks amazing! i love summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Heather C

      I would definitely be relieved if that was a “one time” deal – let’s stick with that unofficial rule. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Crashing on my bike is one of my greatest fears. Good for you for shaking it off mentally even as you took a break physically (also: brownies TOTALLY heal all ills).

  18. omg I’m so glad you and your bike are ok. how scary!! hopefully the arm is completely back to normal asap. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  19. Pingback: Tuesday Trials: Run, Eat, Read « Dietitian on the Run

  20. Pingback: An Excuse for a New Helmet | Dietitian on the Run

  21. Pingback: Weekending: On & Off the Pavement | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

