3 Things Thursday: New Markets, Fresh Eats & Miles

Get excited; this post comes to you via real internet (i.e. no BB keys), photo-uploading capabilities and strong coffee!

1) As mentioned earlier, I’m cheating on Trader Joe’s. That chain of stores has skipped over Colorado, but Sprouts Farmers Market stepped in to save the day. I did my research; I knew it would be love, and I knew that Sprouts + my wallet would be very good friends.

We stocked up for a grand total of $80 (i.e. $40 per person); and will definitely have more than enough to last through the week. In there, you’ll find some amazing deals. These are just a few of them:

  • Red Bell Peppers & Avocados – $0.88 ea
  • Dried Cranberries – $2.99 / lb
  • Organic Whole Carrots – $0.49
  • Cage-free, Organic Large Eggs – $0.99
  • Fresh Corn Ears – $0.19 ea
  • Peaches / Nectarines – $0.88 / lb

I’ll spotlight more of these products, as I marvel at their short ingredient lists and fresh tastes.

2) After days of eating on the road and out ofΒ  the kitchen, D & I were both craving something fresh, healthy and light. Somewhere in Kansas City, my Dad insisted we stop at Gates Bbq. There may not have been a meat-free menu option (Subway to the rescue!), but that did not stop me from picking up some classic Kansas City sauce that added some spice to this meal:

Roasted Corn, Asparagus (topped with freshly squeezed Lemon juice, salt/pepper),
and Sweet Potato Chips (drizzled in Canola Oil, Cumin, and Pepper)

Once prepared (chopped, seasoned, etc), pop everything in the *425 oven for 15-20 minutes.
Then, use your sauce!

Butter, step aside. If you have never topped your corn with spicy Barbecue sauce, please do so as soon as possible! Fresh summer corn is in abundance right now, don’t miss out. πŸ˜‰

3) I tackled another 5 mile run this morning. This time, I ran solo and withΒ  music.

I did an “L-shaped” out-and-back; turning down a new road, I found myself going West towards the mountains. There is something so peaceful about having that backdrop right in front of you. I totally zoned out, and my legs took the opportunity to go a little faster than was planned.

The middle miles averaged 8:20 m/m; I felt great, until I approached mile 4 and noticed my breathing was getting heavier and my HR was at 190. Ugh. Altitude, let’s speed up the acclimation thing!

Suffice to say I’m a little nervous about 18 tomorrow; they will be slow miles, to say the least.

*****

To satisfy your requests, I took this quick picture leaning out of the car window (on the passenger side, don’t worry) of our neighborhood scenery. πŸ™‚

14 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, new things!, pictures, training

14 responses to “3 Things Thursday: New Markets, Fresh Eats & Miles

  1. OMG i drive down that road every sunday! crazyiness πŸ™‚

  2. that all looks like great food! I love your nighborhood! So cute.

  3. Holy awesome deals at the market!!! Everything looks fantastic.

    Nice job on the run – got to love that view!

    Good luck on your long run! Hope the altitude is kind!

  4. Elizabeth

    Did you run into many other runners while you were out? You guys could have your very own Meetup group!

  5. Yea a pic! I’ll take it. Great work on the run. It’s something else out west.

    I like that you added prices for your shopping:)

  6. IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL THERE!! I’m totally having city envy. Dallas is hot and humid. Maybe we’ll move to Colorado!:)

  7. When we are in Phoenix, I frequent Sprouts. Love it! I see you are registered for the Healthy Living Summit. I had been on the waiting list, and finally got a ticket. Yeah!

  8. Omg your new neighbourhood is GORG! Colour me jealous!!!

  9. Sprouts is great! Out of Dallas and “sprouting” out all over the country. I know in CA too. Cheap and great produce is their thing.

  10. More mountain photos, pleaseeeeee!!!! πŸ™‚

    Jealous!

  11. sooooooooo jealous of the new hood! my boss has a home out there and he said i can come stay with him and run the marathon!!! πŸ™‚

  12. Gorgeous! I’m sure you’ll adjust to the altitude soon enough πŸ™‚

  13. When I moved to TX, I, too, was extremely saddened by the loss of Trader Joe’s in my life. But I, too, have come to love Sprouts as a (slightly less wonderful, but I’m adjusting) stand-in. πŸ™‚

  14. That grocery haul is quite impressive. I love coming back with so many good eats! And the neighborhood looks very cute from what I can see.

Let's Hear It!

