It’s Not Quite Wisteria Lane

We’re definitely in suburbia, folks! Well, compared to the “Norm” in DC that I had been used to.

I went for my first run in FOUR days, this morning. After 2 Full days on the road, one full day unpacking and settling, and one day just doing little things here ‘n there (and making excuses, dangit), I finally laced the running shoes back up for their first Colorado journey. I decided on 5 miles, but secretly hoped that and “easy 6” was atttainable. You know me; and I don’t know the schedule (honestly, I don’t. It’s still packed somewhere…)!

D joined on the bike because 1) He knows I’m missing my RB and he’s awesome, and 2) we both knew there was a good possibility I’d wander down some twisting neighborhood street and find myself “lost” about one mile later. Just sayin’.

Instead of monuments and memorials, I now see mountains, the Flat irons and an open sky. Instead of Rock Creek trail, the Zoo and/or Dupont Circle down the street, I see Sprouts market, housing developments, and bike/run trails. It’s a trade-off! We’re certainly not in the “city” anymore, but we’re not quite into Wisteria Lane. πŸ˜‰

After 5.25 miles, I called it a day. With my average pace hovering around a normally “easy” 9:10, my Heart Rate suggested it might take more than a few miles to acclimate to this “Mile-high” stuff (it averaged 180).

The true test will be on Friday, when I tackle 18. Until then, I have more exploring, running, cooking, and mountain seeing to enjoy. I also hope, by Friday, this no-internet stuff will be settled and I’ll no longer develop arthritis by bringing you short updates via Blackberry. πŸ™‚

Since I can’t read up on you all, yet, fill me in! What’s goin’ on in your world??

17 Comments

Filed under following the schedule

17 responses to “It’s Not Quite Wisteria Lane

  1. Elizabeth

    Frankly, I’m impressed that you’re even bothering to do BlackBerry updates. That’s a lot of typing on the little guy.

  2. I know, it’s true, there’s a lot of suburbia around here. Took me awhile to get used to, although now I live in a small town. Good luck with your 19 on Friday. Drink tons of water before and during. Might help with the altitude stuff.

  3. glad you made it safe and are starting to settle in!

  4. I want pictures. I know it’s beautiful. I hope you are soaking it all in, how fantastic!

  5. Glad you had a buddy so you didn’t get lost on your run! The first LR in a new place should be interesting. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  6. I truly appreciate this post… it has to be painful typing on those tiny BB keys!

    CONGRATS on your first run around your new digs. Sounds like lots of exploring is in order in the near future. Best of luck on the 18!! I hope you’ll have your biking-buddy along!

  7. NICE job on that run! my friend sarah (who just moved to colorado) says it takes 6 weeks for your body to make more red blood cells, which is what you need to acclimate. but she’s a music teacher, so maybe not totally accurate. πŸ™‚

  8. I am glad to hear that you are getting back into your normal routine in a new area. I cant wait till you have internet again so that we can read/ see what your new area looks like. I also hope you do know that you might not run quite as quick as you did in DC, because your body will need time to acclimate to the altitude!! πŸ™‚

  9. I can’t believe you’re already at 18 miles! I just started “officially” training on Monday and I know in a few weeks I’ll be tackling crazy numbers like that…but it definitely hasn’t hit me yet! It’s great you felt good with the different altitude. I’m sure your run Friday will be awesome πŸ™‚

  10. I demand photos of said mountains!!!

    • Heather C

      You will get them, soon! Once I have internet and/or figure out how to upload photos from the BB. All tricky things….

  11. J

    Good luck with the 18 miles! I am sure you will be acclimated to the altitude soon!

  12. Getting acclimated to the altitude will take some time but I have no worries you’ll be feeling at home in no time! Just don’t push yourself to hard at first. Good luck this weekend!

    P.S. Nothing new here but leg gremlins running amuck on my lower legs. Those little b@stards!

  13. good luck on the lr this weekend! i will be out there running with you…. this time im in a diff time zone!!! πŸ™‚ great job on the run!!!

  14. Tell the Flatirons I say helloβ€”they really do feel like old friends every time I see them! And really, be careful on your 18-miler. Altitude sickness is no joke, and can set you back training-wise pretty significantly. If you feel headachy or nauseous, just stop!

    • Heather C

      Altitude Sickness – thanks for the heads up! Knowing me, I would’ve pushed on or just walked for a bit. We’ll see how it goes, and I’ll definitely keep all of the above in mind πŸ™‚

  15. good luck on your 18 tomorrow. When I did the wild west relay last summer the altitude definitely gave me a run for my money. well that sentence was all sorts of punny, huh? πŸ™‚

Let's Hear It!

