A Day in the Life

I have this week “off”; I gave myself time to finish up some side projects, work on Healthy Living Summit stuff, pack, run and/or bike, and more importantly, to enjoy a few more days in this city.

This is giving me a little taste of what it’s like to ‘work from home’ – actually, I’m taking a big bite and I think I like the flavor. My to-do list is long, but I’m satisfying the needs and checking things off!

So, what does this Dietitian do when left to her own devices? I’ve decided to give you a photo-glimpse…

A Day in the Life of Heather. It’s a good life, that’s for sure.

*****

Monday Morning:

D & I got all geared up and headed out for my first “real” bike ride, in the clipless shoes & pedals. This required a 6 a.m. wake up call, as we went to meet Katie behind the Jefferson Memorial. I can happily say (with a huge sigh of relief) this was a successful ride! I only had to “clip out” once or twice, and did so without issue. I did Not fall, struggle, panic, and/or turn around to go home. 20.5 miles, done!

After I come in from a ride/run, I immediately shower and eat breakfast. Today, I just went for the food. Oats, 1/2 banana, Peanut butter & Agave. Add my cup of Pinon Coffee, and there is my morning ritual.

I quickly realized how easy it is to be distracted at home; to-do list must be made! A little structure goes a long way; project #1 was halfway done before I needed a break.

Stroga to the rescue! My hips have felt a little tight since the 16-miler last week. What can’t stretching and yoga fix? Vinyasa Flow, let’s have a date.

On that note, if every day involved a lunch-hour yoga break, I think we’d all be happier. It was so nice to take a sunny 10 minute walk to the studio, sit & relax, then stretch and work all my muscles. In the near future, I can see Yoga becoming a staple in my routine. Love.

One hour of some insane hip, split, bridge, backbend, downward-dog business later, my stomach was talking. Lunch: Whole wheat wrap filled with Shredded Mozzarella, Grape tomatoes, Spinach leaves & baby Mushrooms. Heat in the oven at 400* for ~4 minutes. Serve with a freshly sliced peach on the side.

Back to work! When things were finally done, it was 4 pm and I had yet to shower. Personal hygeine, then dinner.

Dinner: We bought Trader Joe’s Lemmon Pepper Marinaded Mahi Mahi Steaks for an easy, but healthy, meal. Bake on foil at 400* for ~12 minutes (flipping once, after 8  min), accompanied by some zucchini slices (seasoned with salt/pepper and drizzled in olive oil).

Side note: if you know how to make fish and corn photogenic, please inform me immediately. This doesn’t look appealing, but it was delicious! Seasoned, moist, flaky and filling.

Monday evening: We took a walk down to Dupont Circle – i.e. my favorite neighborhood in the city, and my morning meet-up spot before Kate & I head out for runs. It was a cool summer night, perfect for reading, people-watching, and playing with settings on my new camera. Take a look:

I am obsessed with this book. If you haven’t picked it up yet, GO. Now. Seriously.
I can Not put it down.
Until I’m distracted by the surroundings (Panorama view!):

On the way home, we made the obvious choice:
enjoy SweetGreen Froyo with a Sunset Stroll

Stoneyfield Frozen Yogurt + Strawberries + Walnuts + Chocolate Chips

It was a sweet end to a good day.

12 Comments

Filed under about me, bike rides, blogging, DC, dinners, doin things My way, fabulous, food, lunches, meetups, things that make me Happy, weather love

12 responses to “A Day in the Life

  1. What a glorious day!! I would love to work from home and have some more flexibility for errands, workouts, etc. And to eat lunch at home every day!!

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

  2. Sounds like a great day! I love accomplishing so much in a day and having flexibility to do things on my own time. I think I would do really well working from home…

  3. i NEED that frozen yogurt…did you make it yourself? or do they sell it in DC? either way, yum!

  4. It looks and sounds like life is good! I gotta tell you, you have it made with everything already lined up! It allows you to enjoy your time left so much more! Cheers!

  5. J

    I would love to work from home!! It would be so great to have a flexible schedule. I loved reading Ultra Marathon man! it was such a great book – i was so fascinated by his long night runs!

  6. Sounds like a fabulous day! I am jealous of your camera! Your posts about food are making me want to eat healthier and healthier!

  7. Standing O! Proud of you, glad you are loving the pedals. Makes the ride go by a bit quicker:)

    OK — you may have talked me into the book…

  8. I loved reading Ultramarathon Man! I am now reading his book “50/50,” which is about his 50 marathons, in 50 states, in 50 consecutive days–it is awesome as well!

  9. A day in your life sounds wonderful! Enjoy your week off!!

  10. What a great day! A bike ride, yoga, a book and frozen yogurt. I’m not sure it gets much better than that.

  11. MDL

    You should have videotaped it all and submitted it to the ‘Life in a Day’ project on YouTube. [Although it would have had to be on July 24th].

Let's Hear It!

