The 24-Factor

Yes, it did require some planning and I would not have realized this was my “24th” race. Ivan pointed it out some time in May (thank you, Blog, for keeping track of these things!), and obviously I was going for it.

Golden Birthday, Golden Race, done!

Before: Back, again! This course holds a PR for both of us (22:05), but we were not up for Elite-style racing this time around. We counted, this is race #12 we’ve run together. Bittersweet. Next time, maybe I’ll get him in Colorado for some high-altitude no-humidity running? πŸ™‚

After a slow ‘n easy 1 mile warm up, we were sweating & hot. The heat index was around “105*”. What were we doing out here again?! Whew.

After: (courtesy of Ivan’s iPhone). We’re alive! Yes, I ran without a shirt. It’s actually become the Norm for me. The DC summer declared battle, it’s been a dirty fight but I’m still above water. πŸ˜‰Β  And one beer, down. SO refreshing.

Crystal City 5K
24th race, 24th birthday, July 24, 2010
24:04
(Garmin time: 23:55)

Apparently I really chased after that “24 Factor” (are you sick of seeing 24, yet?)! I just checked the official stats, how appropriate of these legs. When mile 1 consisted solely of weaving around people and deciding how fast was “racing” versus “running hard/holding back”, miles 2-3 must’ve been on the muscles’ calculations. 7:58, 7:12, 7:20, 7:08 (0.2).


Thanks, Ivan, for being out there with me during Round 2 in crazy heat!
Thanks to Anne P & Katie for joining us in some post-race celebrations!

Cheers, 24. Let’s see what you have in store for me…

16 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, meetups, race report, Races, running, things that make me Happy

16 responses to “The 24-Factor

  1. i can’t imagine how incredibly sweaty you must have been! i would have been drenched!

  2. Congrats on such an awesome time!

  3. You killed it! That’s what I like to see. Applause. Confetti, etc.:)

    ATL heat is seriously driving me bonkers.

    Um, I love the hair braid btw. I might do that for my next race!

  4. katiedin

    It was great to finally meet you! And yes, that race was unreal HOT! The beer was great to have afterwards just because it was so cold.

    p.s. Brian Sell and his mustache ended up sitting next to me at the bar at Ted’s. I felt like I met two celebrities that day. Haha!

  5. ultrarunnergirl

    Great race girl! and in that heat . . . kudos! Glad it was worthy of your 24th bday.

  6. carpeviam

    Well 25 better be awesome since it’s your quarter century bday! Start planning now…

  7. 24 minutes… how appropriate! Great race in some wicked heat! Congrats! Wishing you many good things for your 24th year and your next 24 races. πŸ™‚

  8. Love the photos. I’m dreaming of the day I have the guts and abs to run w/ just a sports bra. It will be sooo freeing! Nice work lady, especially in those kind of temps.

  9. J

    You definitely started your 24th year off right! Must have been a hot one! Great job!

  10. Lacey

    yay! way to go!!! great idea and lovely pictures! πŸ™‚

  11. What an excellent and meaningful way to celebrate your birthdayβ€”happy birthday, and congrats on a great race in those horrid conditions!

  12. Great job on your 24th race on your 24th birthday! I love number coincidences! πŸ™‚ SO FUN!!! πŸ™‚

  13. I secretly wish you would’ve ran a 24:24. πŸ˜€ And in that attrocious weather you ran my 5k PR. I’d throw my rage and hatred your way, but you’re still basking in post-birthday bliss so I won’t. πŸ˜‰

Let's Hear It!

