Friday Five: Close to 24

Happy Friday!

This post is powered by Starbucks Iced Coffee and its double-brewed glory. 

1) I survived the late 16-miler; my planning-brain assumed this workout would consume all energy levels, leaving me free to enter a deep sleep and enjoy the fact that my alarm was Not set for “4:45 a.m.”.

Wrong. So wrong. I laid in bed, awake, until at least 1:30 a.m., unable to fall asleep. I couldn’t get comfortable thanks to lingering leg aches/pains that inevitably come with LRs; I couldn’t decide if I was nauseous or hungry; I couldn’t calm my tossing/turning tendencies because I just ran for a long time. There’s something to be said for running in the morning – you have all day to get rid of All of the above.

2) Confession: I have zero appetite after I run long distances (for the purposes of training, I consider anything >10 miles “long”). Yes, I crave things (A cold IPA from the tap, hot & fresh pizza, a huge cold smoothie, etc). However, once it’s time to stop and eat, very few things actually sound “good”. Last night it took three tries before my stomach and my taste buds were satisfied.

Strawberry Popsicle: Cold, sweet, juicy, refreshing…until I got half-way through and “over” biting into something freezing. No mas, por favor!

PB/Banana Smoothie: As I cooled down in an “ice bath” (see: bathtub with cold water. No ice. Poor planning. ), D blended up some Greek Yogurt + Peanut Butter + Frozen Banana per my request. Thanks, D! Again, I took about 5 spoonfuls/sips  and could not stand the taste of this. Um…

Tortilla Chips (with a hint of Lime): DING DING DING. Salty, crunchy, lime-y? This hit the spot. I was so satisfied sitting there as I slowly munched on these chips. The setback: I actually purchased them for tonight. We’re entertaining friends and I’m making the Creamy Avocado Spread. So, I told myself to hold back. Save the chips!

As I was still awake at 1:30 a.m., and suddenly starving, I went right back to those salty, crunchy chips. Then I grabbed a CLIF bar for some “real” nutrition. This morning, at 6:30 a.m., I was starving again for breakfast. Hello, bottomless pit.

3) Today is my last day at work, in DC! Next week will be consumed with packing, running, finishing up some projects, catching up with some friends, and then heading to Colorado. All of the above will take that entire week to really “sink in”.

4) Tomorrow, I turn 24.

5) Tomorrow, I will run my 24th race. We’re toeing the line at the Crystal City Twilight 5K for the second year in a row. Last year’s race was a Lot of fun, and still holds my 5K PR! This year, I intend to “hold back” a little – marathon training takes priority over current 5K PRs.

We’ll see how that goes.

******

*Cheers* to the weekend, celebrations, running & healthy eats!

 

15 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, fabulous, food, Races, random, running, things that make me Happy, training, weekends

15 responses to “Friday Five: Close to 24

  1. YAY happy birthday and have a great race!!

  2. So cool! Happy Birthday and 24th race. 🙂

  3. Yahoo for 24th race on your 24th bday! That’s some smart planning. How do you keep track of all those races? I know there are 5ks and such that I’ve not recorded. It’s hard to remember them all. D sounds like a great support bf. And I need some of that avocado spread tonight perhaps. Good work on the LR.

  4. Happy Birthday for tomorrow!!!

    I can’t imagine doing a LONG run like that at night. The longest run I’ve done in the evening is 8 miles. I’m a morning runner all the way!

  5. I, too, have NO appetite after a long run, but the next day I am a bottomless pit!!

  6. carpeviam

    I’ve had the same “zero appetite” issues. I would just drink chocolate milk so that I’d at least have something in my belly. I still have problems with that from time to time.

    Happy bday! All the best on that race!

  7. Happy Birthday!! And good for you to do a long run so late! I’m super impressed!

  8. I remember reading once that it is really hard to sleep after a marathon because your body is all amped up, oxygen deprived, etc. Weird. Seems like it would be the opposite. Best popsicle I ever had was right after my first marathon at the finish! Orange.

    I know you have a crazy day on 8/28, but if it ends up working out (and you are not drunk) let me know and I’ll hook you up with a skirt and something to do!!!

  9. c~o~u~r~t~n~e~y

    Happy birthday!

  10. Happy Birthday and have an amazing race!

  11. Happy birthday/raceday!

  12. J

    Happy Birthday and hope the race went well!!

  13. How appropriate to run your 24th race for tyour 24th Bday!

    I have the same issues with not being able to eat after a LR, especially when it’s hot. It usually takes a few hours until I can really get something into me. Argh! Funny, since I crave everything under the SUN during the run!

  14. I can never sleep after long runs or tough races. It’s the worst. 😦

Let's Hear It!

