Love for My Avocado

It may have taken me years to appreciate this green, creamy, healthy-fat filled fruit, but we’ve put that behind us.  Now, we have dates with tortilla chips, pizza crusts, and spinach salad beds. Recently, we ventured into the Food Processor. This may be our new favorite “spot”.

Creamy Avocado Spread

1/2 Avocado
1/4 c Greek Yogurt
Ground Red Pepper
Garlic Powder
Salt, Pepper

Put all ingredients into a Food Processor and pulse until it looks creamy & delicious:

Thanks to my self-control, this spread was saved for a burger combination. We went from Food Processor, to Whole-wheat Pita.

1 whole wheat Pita (or bun, whatever you prefer!)
1 veggie burger
Toppings of choice (tomatoes? yes, please).

Now, grab some blue corn tortilla chips and finish that spread.

Trust me, you’ll want to.

Protein: Veggie Burger, greek yogurt
Fat: Avocado
Carbs: Whole-wheat pita
Plus some lycopene, Vitamins A & C from those tomatoes.

As if you need them, here are a few more reason to toss in that Avocado: fiber, potassium, B-vitamins & folic acid. Yes, he’s quite a catch!

*******

More often than not, one questions whether this vegetable should be “cooked”. Does it ruin the taste? Does it create a weird texture? Does it brown and lose that green factor? No, no and….well, sort of.

Pepperjack & Hummus Avocado “Pizza”

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
1 Whole Wheat Pita
1 slice Pepperjack Cheese
1/4 Avocado, sliced ‘n diced
Baby Mushrooms

Place on a greased baking pan (PAM it!), and top with the other half of the Pita. Bake/toast at 400* for 3-4 minutes (watch it carefully, don’t burn that pita).

If you’re feeling veggie, add some steamed broccoli for color and bulk (my favorite vegetable side).

Protein: Cheese, vegetables
Fat: Cheese, avocado, hummus
Carbs: Whole-wheat pita

Whether to call this a “pizza”, toasted “sandwich”, or simply some delicious-pita-hummus-cheese & veggie combination, I will leave up to you. Just enjoy it!

******

What’s your favorite way to have an avocado?
Besides guacamole! Get creative. 😉

18 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, new things!, Nutrition, recipes

18 responses to “Love for My Avocado

  1. what’s not to love about avocados?! that spread sounds amazing…i kind of want to bathe in it 😉

  2. You know, I have only ever had avocado in guac! These are some awesome ideas. Mmm, toasted sandwich!!!

  3. I know what I am having for dinner tonight now.

  4. c~o~u~r~t~n~e~y

    I just licked my computer screen!

  5. I have never had avocado on a pizza, gonna have to try. I have used it on salmon burgers (licks lips) but my favorite is guac, Sorry, it’s such a classic:)

  6. I’m obsessed with avocado! I add it to salads, wraps, sandwichs, burgers, almost anything!!! Love the texture of it. So good!

  7. Avocado IS a fruit. In Brazil, we eat it like a fruit (as in is supposed to be sweet, not salty).

    My favorite ways?

    -A smoothie with avocado, milk and sugar.
    -Mashed with sugar and a dash of lime.

    Yum!

    (For these reasons, I despise guacamole, it’s just wrong!)

    • Heather C

      Wow, the *smoothie* is new (to me)! Not a bad idea – I can definitely see that working and just might have to try it 🙂

  8. Yum yum yum! I too am an avocado lover. Great ideas!

  9. J

    I have never used avocado besides for guacamole. Obviously I am way behind! It looks so yummy!

  10. Lacey

    oooh looks delish!! hey what are your favorite veggie burgers?? also have you seen the mahi-mahi burgers at TJs?! i love them!

  11. I’d never thought about adding Greek yogurt to guac—yum! Thanks for yet another great, delicious-looking idea!

  12. Yuuuuuum. I love avocado on burgers. And guac…awesome. It’s been too long since I’ve made it homemade style. I like using fresh limes, salt, red onion, tomatoe and a few avocados. Yum yum. So, how’d the LR go?

  13. i’m not a big avocado eater… that said i’m not sure i’ve ever tried it… maybe i would like it… lol

  14. Pingback: Friday Five: Close to 24 « Dietitian on the Run

  15. kudos to D’s bday present to you. That first photo is to DIE for. I’m seriously drooling.

  16. Pingback: Tweets that mention Love for My Avocado « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

Let's Hear It!

