Friday Food: “Vegetarian” Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

For a luncheon today at work, I volunteered to bring dessert.

Problem #1: we have no eggs.
Problem #2: I had no time to grocery shop!
Problem Solver
: Mama Pea.

Because where else do you look when you need a “vegetarian” (or vegan), yet delicious and simple treat? Exactly.

I chose her “Soft-Baked Oatmeal Raisin Cookies” for inspiration, and improvised with the ingredients I had on hand. How do you make cookies without eggs, butter, or oil? Like this:

“Vegetarian”* Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

1 c Old Fashioned Oats
1/2 c Whole-wheat flour
1/2 c Unbleached All-purpose Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Cinnamon, Ground Nutmeg
1/2 tsp Salt
1 tbsp Xagave **(Subst: Agave, Honey)
1/4 c Brown Sugar
1/4 c Sugar
1/2 c Greek Yogurt, Plain (Nonfat, optional)
1/3 c Almond Milk (or Non-dairy milk)
Pecan Halves

*does contain a milk product (yogurt)
**you’ll hear more about this, soon!

Combine Yogurt, milk, Xagave & sugars. Whisk or use a mixer to blend together.

Combine oats, flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Stir together and slowly add to the wet ingredients until dough forms. Form  cookie “balls” and place on a baking sheet; top with one pecan half (optional). Bake at 350* for ~12 minutes, until golden brown. Enjoy! (makes ~18 small cookies)

I was a little confused when removing them from the oven – apparently these cookies don’t spread like “regular” cookies?

This fact would’ve been helpful when arranging them for baking, as they were spaced accordingly! Ah, well. Now I know, becuase Yes, I will be making these again. And then maybe once more with raisins, or chocolate chips, or butterscotch chips, or peanut butter? Or…all of the above?! Get creative with your cookies.

What’s your favorite cookie??

I’m very satisfied with these healthier little treats! We’ll see what the coworkers think…

Happy Friday!

13 Comments

Filed under food, groceries, new things!, Nutrition, recipes, things that make me Happy

13 responses to “Friday Food: “Vegetarian” Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

  1. You have tickled my southern fancy! They look straight out of a magazine. Nice creativity in a pinch.

    I think you have to go with the classic chocolate chip. But I love anything with peanut butter. Don’t make me choose.

  2. Pingback: Twitted by DCrunnergrrl

  3. AHH!! they are so cute!!! something about that little pecan just makes me giggle.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friday Food: “Vegetarian” Oatmeal Pecan Cookies « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  5. chocolate chip all the way…there’s really nothing that beats a fresh-baked chocolate chip cookie (and maybe with a little ice cream on top ;))

  6. oooh, those look tasty! I’m a fan of peanut butter chip cookies, but I’ll eat all cookies! Oh yes, especially pazookies 🙂 Have a good weekend!

  7. oh and I forgot to say these would be perfect for my Almond Breeze! 😉

  8. Yum, yum! I haven’t done any baking or much cooking lately due to the heat.

  9. oh man why do you have to post these when i am sitting here SO HUNGRY 😉

  10. my fave cookie is either peanut butter cookies or cinnamon and sugar cookies!

  11. These look delicious! Way to get creative with what you had on hand.

Let's Hear It!

