Three Things Thurdsay: Traveling, Training-style

1) Start your day with exercise! With a 9 a.m. flight, this meant I had to get up even earlier than usual, but it was totally worth it. Nothing feels better than a good sweat-session before those poor legs have to sit all day long. We have many hours of traveling ahead (2 flights, one 3 hour drive), meaning I’ll have no problems catching back up on that sleep!

Kate and I met this morning for 6.3 miles, in ~54 minutes. Apparently DC is “cooler” today, but upping the humidity factor. Let’s just say that our middle-mile pace averaged 8:10, and today that felt much closer to “7:30”. Whew.

2) Pack healthy snacks! The following things will travel with us:

  • CLIF Bars
  • Mixed nut packages (individually wrapped)
  • Whole-wheat pretzel sticks
  • PB&J on whole-wheat tortillas (because we have no bread left)
  • Water bottles! (Nalgene, all ready to be filled up)
  • Apples

3) Plan ahead, and pack your {running} gear! I know I have at least 3 runs to do before we get back to DC; 12 miles, 2 x “easy” 5-6 miles. In my suitcase went the Garmin, HR Monitor, socks/shoes, and running clothes. I’m all set! Between those runs, I have a nice high-altitude, desert-style, hike on the agenda for D & I. The bikes have to be left at home, so cross-training gets a makeover this week.

Warning: do not plan too far ahead…

Oops. Don’t worry, I dug them out to lace them up one this morning. šŸ˜‰

Time to go! Catch ya from New Mexico…

11 Comments

Filed under early morning, making plans, training, travel, weekends

11 responses to “Three Things Thurdsay: Traveling, Training-style

  1. I’ve totally done that too! LOL! Have a safe trip and enjoy location running!

    P.S. 12 on deck for me too. We are so training the same! LOL!

  2. Sounds like you’re all set! Safe travels!!

  3. Elizabeth

    Have a great time! (And I’ve definitely done that with my sneakers…and any number of other things.)

  4. have fun girl! and have fun running šŸ™‚ let me know if you guys make it up this way!

  5. have fun! fly safe! enjoy the dry air, have a great run, a great vacation, and good luck!

  6. J

    I have totally packed stuff too early and then wondered where I put that stuff! Too funny! hope you have a great trip!

  7. Lacey

    lol!!! i ALWAYS do that cuz i love having things packed ahead of time. i’m constantly digging out my hair straightener šŸ™‚

    have a safe trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! running (or working out) before flying is SO necessary šŸ™‚

  8. sounds like you are all prepared! have a safe flight and lots of fun in CO! šŸ™‚

  9. I can’t even imagine how early you two got up this morning to do a run prior to leaving for a 9am flight! It does always feel better though to get that out of the way. And it makes the plane ride better. Have fun!

  10. Always worth getting up a bit early to get in your normal workout, agreed!

    Safe travels!!!

  11. Pingback: Cross Training Explorations « Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

