Bike, Run, Eat, Repeat: Holiday Weekend Edition

This equation seems to define my weekends these days, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Friday night: we took the bicis down to one of my favorite DC-spots to watch the sunset. This t mi (total) ride was preceded by a tortilla-pizza & Summer Ale dinner, and proceeded by Frozen Yogurt. I think that just might be one of the few recipes to perfection that I’ve come across, to date.

*******

Saturday morning: Another 10-mile run was scheduled for my “training. I met up with Anne P & Ashley, getting in an easy 4 on my own first, andjoining them for 6 miles along the Capital Crescent Trail. It was a gorgeous summer morning, Anne took her photographer role and got some great pictures. Any route that mixes trails & friends is fine by me! 10.10 miles, 1;28:03, avg 8:45 m/mile.

While I took the mile up Connecticut Avenue to get home as a cooldown, I was starving by the time I got home. Lunchtime cravings jumped to something I had packed and loved earlier in the week: Gouda Cheese Quesadilla!

1 whole-wheat tortilla
1 slice Smoked Gouda Cheese
Tomato Slices, Spinach Leaves, Sliced mushrooms

Heat oven to *400. Place cheese on 1/2 of the tortilla, top with spinach, tomatoes & mushrooms. Fold in half, place on a baking sheet & bake for ~4-5 minutes (until cheese is melted and tortilla is slightly browned).

*******

Sunday morning: After watching Stage 1 of the Tour de France (anyone else excited that the TDF has started?! Discuss.), we set out for a ride of our own. Immediately  I could sense that my energy levels weren’t ready for the 2 hours we had planned, but I wasn’t up for quitting the ride, either. Stubborn? Yes. Feeling smart that we chose to leave at Noon? Nope. We took the intensity down a notch and I still enjoyed being out there, riding with D, instead of lounging around all day. 2 hours, ~28 miles later I finally got to concoct the fresh fruit salad I had been craving since around mile 1…

1gala apple, chopped
1 svg Pecan halves, chopped
Spinach Leaves
BIG, cold Watermelon wedge

Greek Yogurt Dressing: Greek yogurt,agave nectar, cinnamon (stir together)

This crisp salad and side-o-melon hit the spot! Just enough “lunch” to hold me over until our bbq-festivities begin.

******

I have a lot of munching, wine-enjoying and firework watching to do with D and our friends, as we enjoy the 4th of July in our Nation’s Capital! My holiday weekend will involve another easy run, tomorrow morning, and a whole day of no work/more play. 🙂 I hope you’re all enjoying the extra day off and fun holiday activities, too!

6 Comments

Filed under bike rides, DC, food, recipes, running buddy, training, weekends

6 responses to “Bike, Run, Eat, Repeat: Holiday Weekend Edition

  1. Purdy sunset photos 🙂

  2. Sounds lovely! What a beautiful sunset of DC!!!

    Glad you are soaking up all of the 4th of July fun. Enjoy the fireworks tonight.

  3. What a fantastic weekend! Awesome job on the cycling and running, and great-looking eats as always! Hope you had a great 4th!

  4. The Greek yogurt dressing sounds amazing.

  5. your pics are gorgeous – what a nice night! and i’m glad to see this watermelon behaved with pinky yum juice!

  6. Liz

    What a great weekend! ❤ the sunset pics.

Let's Hear It!

