IronGirl & Fitness Magazine Recap: Giveaway + Q&A

Last week I attended a Webinar hosted by IronGirl & Fitness Magazine. We heard from Judy Molnar & Troy Jacobson of IronGirl, and Mary Christ Anderson from Fitness Magazine. They offered up some great advice on getting started with races; overcoming those initial fears of new distances, new forms of exercise, and the inevitable race-day-nerves!

Since I have toed the line at over 20 races thus far, I know all of those feelings like the back of my hand. That being said, there are always things to be learned when it comes to fitness! Here are a few of my favorite tips:

  • On Race Day, use dynamic stretches to warm up your muscles: butt kicks, high knees, 30 sec strides, and/or walking lunges.
  • Stretch in little bouts throughout each day to prevent tightness. This is also a great way to take a break from the desk and give your muscles some TLC, especially turning training cycles!
  • During the race, pay attention to your form! Spend weekly training runs/rides focusing on this; proper form equates to more efficient muscles.
  • Use a Heart Rate Monitor frequently (does not have to be during every workout); easy days are just as important as the high-intensity workouts, using different muscle fibers and fuel.
  • Use Speed workouts at least once per week to develop anaerobic metabolism.
  • Drink water/fluids throughout the day to keep hydration levels constant; many exercisers are dehydrated before even starting their workout! This severely affects performance.
  • Invest in dry-fit socks; cotton socks absorb sweat, become moist, and often cause blisters.
  • Replenish your glycogen stores after your workouts! Post-run/ride/swim your receptor sites are open and ready to put fuel back into your muscles for next time!

Some of you also submitted questions. The answers are a combination of concepts they discussed and my thoughts on the issues:

From Sassy: What are some suggestions for newbie triathaletes to get over their fear of  swimming in open water (i know they do tris)? Develop comfort by practicing open-water swims and becoming familiar with the difference (vs pool water). Do a few workouts in your wetsuit and/or triathlon gear so you know what the transition will feel like! On race day, seed yourself properly so the fast swimmers can get started, and you can swim in less-crowded water. They also had this tip in case of a race-day panic attack in the water: stop, tread water for a moment until you can relax, then keep going.

From Mollie: {Re: Eating within a 20-minute window after exercise, to speed up muscle recovery} Should I really be able to feel a difference? How do I know if the food thing is making me less tired/sore? As mentioned above, your receptors (to absorb nutrients) are “open” immediately after exercise, ready to restore what you’ve used.  When you provide carbohydrates and protein after exercise, your muscles begin to repair and rebuild tissues so that you’ll feel strong for your next workout.

Soreness is related to the release of lactic acid. Potassium is thought to help prevent some soreness; high-potassium foods include bananas, potatoes, carrots, cantaloupe, avocado, milk and yogurt, etc.

From Jill: My stomach cramps up often on long runs.  Since the stomach is a muscle, my thinking is that it could perhaps have something to do with electrolyte levels.  True/False? This is entirely dependent on the type of cramps/discomfort you’re feeling! There is a great article on Runner’s World that breaks it down into categories and possible causes: Cures for Runners’ Digestion Problems.

From Liz: Instead of gu’s, powerbars, etc, what are the best foods to fuel you during training runs? There’s definitely not one single food that is THE best fuel to have along; each runner is different in what they like, prefer and/or can tolerate. From my personal experience, I’ve used honey packets, tortillas or pitas cut into small pieces with honey in between, and sports drinks. Other ideas would be: any type of fruit cut up into easy-to-chew pieces, gummy candies (high sugar), pretzels, jelly beans, etc.

******

Now, for the goodies! The folks at IG and FM some for me, and a great bag to giveaway! Check out the swag:

  • Iron Girl Backpack
  • FlexPower Pain Relief Cream
  • Dr. Teal’s Peppermint Foot Soak
  • Bodycology Lotion
  • Bodycology Cucumber Melon Body Mist
  • DeFeet Speede socks
  • AquaSphere Kayenne Lady {swimming} Goggles
  • Iron Girl Visor
  • Rohto Eye Drops x 2
  • “Runervals with Iron Girl” – 30 Minute Treadmill Workouts (DVD)
  • Luna Bars: White Chocolate Macademia Nut, Protein Chocolate Peanut Butter

BIG TICKET ITEM: Free Entrance for You + a Friend to an Iron Girl Event!
(Racine, Boulder or Lake Tahoe Triathlons)

How to Enter (US Residents only, please!):
Leave a comment!
I like to keep these simple.
For a double-entry, tweet about the giveaway!

I’ll pick a winner on Tuesday July 6th, good luck!

21 Comments

Filed under learning, motivation, new things!, Nutrition, running gear

21 responses to “IronGirl & Fitness Magazine Recap: Giveaway + Q&A

  1. Such great information and a GREAT swag bag. Love to win it!

  2. Elizabeth

    Look at all those goodies! I could feel my feet getting all excited about the foot soak. They really don’t like the way I treat them.

  3. ooooh very exciting giveaway!!!

  4. AND i tweeted. because i’m a tweet monster.

  5. Sharilyn

    YUM!! White Chocolate M academia Nut Luna Bars are my absolute favorite!

  6. Sign me up! Lots of great questions and answers regarding training and fueling.

  7. Great post! It’s my life goal to do an Ironman someday! 🙂

  8. heather c

    Wow! I’m just starting out with tri sprints, so iron girl is a few years away.

  9. Sabrina

    I just started running at the end of last year and now I’m training for my first race and it’s going to a half marathon! I would love to get all those goodies!! 🙂

  10. courtney

    Count me in! Sounds like it was a great Webinar

  11. Holly

    Holy awesome giveaway!

  12. that’s a some sweet swag!

  13. Amy H

    What a fun giveaway!! I have been contemplating signing up for Iron Girl Boulder as my first tri, but haven’t had the guts to do it yet. Maybe a free ticket is exactly what I need to just do the darn thing!

  14. bkim

    This is definitely a great giveaway! Thanks for doing it 🙂

  15. Denise

    I would love this gear to help me train for my first half marathon!!

  16. I would love to try an iron girl event 🙂 I’m training for my first half marathon and have totally found a love for racing. This swag would be pretty sweet

  17. Pingback: Adjusting a Training Plan for: Temperatures! « Dietitian on the Run

  18. Liz

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  19. Thanks for the reminder on your most recent post!! Also check out the tweet – http://twitter.com/jesrn

Let's Hear It!

