Marathon Monday: Officially in Training

Today marked Day 1; I’ve officially started training for Marathon #2, Denver’s Rock ‘n Roll Marathon!

This cycle commenced with an early 6-mile “easy” run. My pace was meant to stay around 9:30, but I was with Kate and we rarely stick to any plan. I did dictate the plan, but we settled into 8:30s mid-run. Knowing our style all too well, I anticipated this and prepared with a very easy warm-up and cool-down. Those middle 4 miles with her evened out, as we chatted and chose our “flat route” along the Potomac and behind the National Mall.

By the end, I had 5.75 miles in 50 minutes (avg 8:45 m/m) done and a lot of fluids to replace. It was a steamy 80* by our early departure, and I’ve been replacing that sweat all day long. Summer training will definitely be a new challenge, but I’m more than ready to take on every stick it throws into my path!

******

This will be so different from my first experience. How?

  • I am comfortable with, and actually prefer, carrying water on my runs. You need that fluid! My arms can bulk up and realize they’re in charge of something very important. Or, I can use D’s camelback.
  • I know which types of “fuel” do not work for me; I’ll continue experimenting with the ones that do, and report back here with ideas!
  • I am dressing for 80-90* runs, not 10-20* snowy paths.
  • I know the mentality it takes to put one foot in front of the other for 14, 16, 18 and 20-milers.
  • I know I’m ready for this, and I know it will be hard.

I also know I’ll be doing some different things, this time around…

  • Continuing my Run x 4 days, bike 1 or 2 days per week.
  • Fueling with veggies, grains, dairy and eggs! No meat for this girl.
  • Sticking to the training-plan! We won’t get into my attitude about that last time.

******

Each challenge you put yourself through – whether it’s training for a 5K or a Marathon – will teach lessons you never expected to learn. The next challenge is in how you use them to carry your muscles and mind through something new.

Have you tested your limits lately? If so, what’s on your training agenda?

22 Comments

Filed under early morning, marathon, mileage, new things!, running

22 responses to “Marathon Monday: Officially in Training

  1. Lauri

    Woo hoo! Good luck!
    I’m with you on carrying my own drinks. Did you ever try HEED from hammer? I love it! I does not bother my stomach a bit.

    What training plan are you using? I’m still looking for one for MCM.

  2. The biking should really help with cross training. I better get back to biking to work, since marathon training is already in full swing and I don’t want to end up with an injury.

    Running in this heat SUCKS. My runs after work in 90+ degree weather have been slow and sweaty. I’m literally dripping after even a 3 mile run. It’s gross. But by marathon time it should be cooler, so it’ll just make it all that much easier, right?

  3. You seem to have all of the right thought processes for this training and your mind and heart are in the right place. You’ll do amazing!

  4. Sounds like you have everything ready to go! I am very excited to start training also! 🙂

  5. Hubby and I just did Runner’s World fitness test and realized we have a LOT of work to do. I just got a camelbak and know I’m going to be so grateful for it in the heat!!

  6. Happy Training! Today marks the beginning of week 4 of training for the Portland Marathon on 10/10/10. It’s my 2nd marathon, but I ran my last marathon in 2006, so it’s almost like a first marathon all over again – except this time i am so much smarter & wiser about running. So I am hoping for a PR!

  7. YYaaayyy! So excited you’re in training too – and with no meat!! Can’t wait to follow along with your training as I go through my own training cycle!

  8. Lacey

    no kidding!! that’s awesome! i love denver. would go back in a heartbeat. have been there twice now, first time for my first half marathon! (technically it was in fort collins). can’t wait to hear what you think of the rock n roll race!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! good luck with training 🙂

    i have a half marathon on sept 5th and a 10k on oct 11.

  9. ROCK ON! Bring on #2!!! Girl you are going to have a blast with this cycle, well except the hot weather but at least you won’t have to move around long runs because of 20 ft of snow or anything! LOL! It seems like everyone has a marathon the 17th so it’ll be a ton of fun to train alongside everyone!!! Here we go again!!! 🙂

  10. Carl

    Good Luck with Denver. It’s (kind of) high desert country with low humidity, but the evelvation is a killer. (Especially when you are coming from sea level.) If you can swing it, you should try to get there 48 hours in advance to acclimate. I was out there for 10 days on business, and I flet like I was running about 20% below my normal level.

  11. Denver is going to be beautiful. You’re going to love that race. Your training looks sharp, I like it!

    This weekend I hopped on my road bike for 40 miles. That was a new one, lol.

  12. I always like doing things the second time around because you know what to expect and what works best for you. Good luck with training! Can’t wait to follow along : )

  13. Pingback: Using the Cross-Training Option « Dietitian on the Run

  14. wooooo! second marathon is so fun since you know you can go the distance and can incorporate all the things you learned from the first time. cant wait to follow along!

  15. Can’t wait to hear your review of the Denver Marathon — and to follow your training, especially in terms of fuel that works! I’m challenging myself this week by *finally* trying chia seeds. Stay tuned …

  16. J

    Training in summer sure is different than training in winter! I have heard that Denver is beautiful and CO is so nice! I am sure it will be a great race for you!

  17. Ooh, Denver is going to be awesome! The Rock n Roll marathon series is so well organized and a lot of fun. Plus, Denver is beautiful!

  18. yay! I’m so sad that you’re starting marathon training #2 without me. Single tear. Although, I don’t know if I could ever do those long runs in the summer. Are there going to be 2am long run start times? :p And I swear I got the most defined shoulders from carrying my handheld through marathon training. Wait!!!! Does that count as strength training?? Whoo!!! 😀

  19. And the plan continues … so sad you can’t make it up my way this Fall but I’m keen to you. Good luck girl. Your plan is a good one, you’re going to do great.

  20. Pingback: Rockin’ with Sony & the Mile-High City « Dietitian on the Run

  21. Pingback: The Day I Learned What “Summer Training” Means « Dietitian on the Run

  22. Pingback: Do You Like to Cross Train? : FITBLOGGER

Let's Hear It!

