Sunday Traditions: Waffles, Bikes & Burgers

With the past few weekends being packed with plans, traveling and/or races, it was nice to get back to an alarm-less morning and one thing on the menu: Waffles.

My normal kitchen tendencies lean towards making things “from scratch”, but last month my Mom and I found ourselves at Williams & Sonoma – this Foodie’s dream store! Conjuring every ounce of self-control, I walked away with one purchase:Granola Pancake/Waffle Mix. Say hello to our pre-bike ride breakfast:

Waffles (Made with: 2 cups Mix, 2 eggs + 1 egg white, 1 tbsp Vegetable Oil)
Trader Joe’s Frozen Berry Mix* (blueberries, raspberries, blackberries & Strawberries)
One sliced banana*
Organic Blue Agave Sweetener

*To keep things interesting – 1 berry waffle, 1 banana waffle

An hour later, we were riding  in Rock Creek Park along Beach Drive.  Cycling in 90* heat, compared to running, seems so much more manageable.  20 miles (1 hr 15 minutes) later, I was the best kind of tired (from keeping up with D!) with that lingering endorphin high that only a good morning workout can bring.

******
Sundays are also our unofficial Grocery-Day. However, find me on a Sunday night and I’m rarely up for creating a gourmet meal. Usually you’ll find me with something “quick”, and usually that something is a Burger…of sorts.

Smoked Gouda & Avocado Veggie Burgers

1 whole wheat tortilla
1/4 Avocado, sliced
1 slice Smoked Gouda cheese
Spinach leaves, Tomato slices
1 Morningstar Veggie Burger

(please excuse my camera’s inability to focus, as of late. Have I mentioned I need a new camera? It’s on my wish-list.)

D gets the credit for this one. I would’ve been content with using up the rest of the avocado and calling it good. He pulled out all the stops – a handful of spinach, using up the end of last week’s tomato (1/4 left, perfect for slicing), melting a piece of Smoked Gouda cheese, and substituting a whole-wheat tortilla for a bun. While the picture may not be crystal clear, I hope you at least get some degree of deliciousness from that combination. It was a satisfying Sunday-burger!

8 Comments

Filed under bike rides, breakfast, DC, dinners, early morning, new things!, recipes, weekends

8 responses to “Sunday Traditions: Waffles, Bikes & Burgers

  1. Lacey

    lookin’ gooood, heather! all around super sunday:) loooooooove avocado burgers 🙂

  2. Lacey

    p.s. i love how much you are biking!!! and that D goes with you!

  3. Sounds like a nice ride along with some yummy food to boot!! 🙂

  4. Both of those meals look awesome! I just found some chicken burgers with lime and something else in the freezer section of Trader Joe’s this weekend. I’m excited to try them.

  5. We have the same Sunday tradition of making a big wonderful breakfast. I usually do the grocery shopping on Sunday Morning too. Best time of the week to do it because its not too crowded and all of the new sales begin.
    Have a great Monday!!

  6. Hey, hey! I got in some serious riding this weekend too. That’s great. Glad you had fun.

    I love waffles. That and muffins can really make a morning:)

    So glad you had a great weekend.

  7. That is one interesting looking “burger” – cleaver use of ingredients!

    Awesome job on the 20 mile bike ride!

  8. Elizabeth

    It’s so nice to know that some people were functional after Saturday night. Because, I’ll give you a hint, it wasn’t us. 🙂

Let's Hear It!

