Friday Food: Five Easy Recipes for Your Grocery List

A quick reminder that I’ll be announcing the winners of my Cookbook giveaway later – the stakes have been raised; a friend of mine is sending me her copies as well, so each winner (out of the 4) will receive two different Cookbooks!  Enter to win here; the results will be posted this afternoon!

******

Now, it’s time for some Friday Food talk.

Since the DOTR menu has been missing this week, I have five delicious photos and recipes waiting for you – all in one post! I tend to grocery shop on Saturday or Sunday; if you do the same, here are a few ideas that might just make it onto your list…

Tempeh & Mexican Sweet Potato Fries

Steamed asparagus, with Tempeh sauteed in Olive Oil (plus squirts of Balsamic Vinegar, and seasoned with Garlic Powder, and Ground Roasted Red Pepper) and baked Mexican Sweet Potato Fries (a la Anne!). 

For the MSP-Fries, I sprayed the SP wedges with Canola Oil, and then added the seasonings. Bake at 375* for ~20 minutes, or until you can sense they’re nice ‘n crispy.

Protein: Tempeh, vegetables
Carbs: Sweet Potato Fries
Fat: Oil, Tempeh

******

Vegetable-Tortilla Pizzas

1 whole wheat tortilla
1 slice Havarti Cheese (substitute: Mozzarella, Parmesan, etc)
Sliced red pepper
Spinach Leaves
Sliced baby Mushrooms
1/4 c Marinara Sauce

Turn oven to Broil; heat until cheese is melted and the “crust” begins to brown.

This was SO simple and quick – we each topped our pizzas (the recipe above is for 1 serving) with the veggies we wanted and put them in the oven. In less than 5 minutes the cheese is melted and your pie is ready!

Protein: Cheese, veggies
Carbs: Tortilla
Fat: Cheese

******

Black Bean, Avocado & Roasted Red Pepper Burritos

In my opinion, a picture never does a good burrito justice. They just aren’t photogenic, but oh do they taste delicious.

This colorful concoction was inspired by the yet-to-be-used Avocado sitting in the fridge; I love the bright green color of this newly cut vegetable.

2 svgs Black beans (from can, rinsed)
1/2 Avocado, cut into chunks
1 Roasted red pepper (from jar, soaked in water) cut into slices
2 whole-wheat tortillas
Seasonings: ground red pepper, cumin, garlic powder

In a small pot, over medium heat, combine first three ingredients and your seasonings of choice. Stir frequently, for 4-5 minutes (until heated). Place on your tortilla, and wrap it up! If you can take a more appetizing picture, please share it – I have yet to photo-conquer this food.

*****

Berry Mix Smoothie-Cereal

Yesterday, we ran out of oatmeal. I honestly can’t remember the last time this happened; yes, ocassionally I will skip the oats for breakfast. But they are always there. Ah!

What does a no-oats-Heather choose instead? Smoothie Cereal!

This is a first, for me.

1 cup frozen Berry Mix ( blueberries, blackberries, raspberries & strawberries)
1 cup Soy Milk
1 cup Kashi Cereal (type? Not sure. This is D’s domain, I just used it)

In the blender went my berries and milk. Once they get all mixed together, I poured and topped with the cereal.

Verdict? I will be stepping away from my oats-norm much more often. I deem this the perfect, refreshing, cool summer breakfast!

*******

Tomato, Pepper, Avocado & Black Bean Salad

For lunch today, I’ll use some of last night’s burrito left-overs. It’s only 9 a.m., and I’m already excited to eat this “salad”!

1 svg Black beans
1/4 fresh tomato, cut into small cubes
1/4 orange pepper, sliced
1/4 Avocado, cubed
~1/2 cup Raw spinach leaves
(not pictured)
Tortilla Chips (not pictured)

Chop ’em up, add it all together (except the chips, those are for side-dipping and crunching!), and refridgerate.

Protein: Beans, vegetables
Carbs: Chips, beans
Fat: Avocado

*****

As usual, my Southwestern roots shine through with most of these recipes. Luckily D has few preferences, and is always up for what my creative-kitchen-tendencies come up with! Hopefully you don’t mind those tendencies either 😉

12 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinners, food, groceries, lunches, new things!, Nutrition, recipes

12 responses to “Friday Food: Five Easy Recipes for Your Grocery List

  1. This all looks so good! Especially the pizza, which I could eat every night! Thanks for the ideas!

  2. I love the berry smoothie mix and will most definitely be trying the Black Bean, Avocado & Roasted Red Pepper Burritos. I have all that stuff in my fridge now, just never thought of throwing it together!

  3. Elizabeth

    I’ll probably have to steal those pizza and breakfast ideas at some point – next trip to Teeter. Also, another good avocado based salad is just avocado, tomato, and an apple. It’s delicious and filling – win win!

  4. Lacey

    recipe madness!!!!!!!!!!! are you not a cereal fanatic???? oooh i definitely am. that is Kashi GoLean. lol.

    happy friday!!!

  5. How was the sauteed tempeh? I think that is my next cooking experiment victim. It looks yum! So does the berry cereal!

  6. YUM! All look delicious. I cannot wait to try that Tortilla pizza!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friday Food: Five Easy Recipes for Your Grocery List « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  8. Pingback: Friday Food: Five Easy Recipes for Your Grocery List « Dietitian … | YuliaHY

  9. J

    Those all look so good!! I could go for any of those RIGHT now!!

  10. Those all look yummers. I need to do pita pizzas again.

  11. Pingback: Vegetarian Cookbook Winners! « Dietitian on the Run

  12. that food looks amazing!!! 🙂 have a good weekend!

Let's Hear It!

