Not Your Average Lunch Creation – Round 2

When the fridge items get low, the meal creativity goes up. In other words, a low-grocery-inventory and oddly-delicious lunch creations seem to have an inverse relationship in my life. The first post of this series involved a Pear-sandwich and mini pizza wedges.

I’m not complaining! Because it means I come up with the following sandwiches. It also means you get repetitive posts with random lunchbox options. 🙂

Option #1 – MozzaGuac Sammie

With half of an avocado left, the obvious option is to make Guacamole, right? Well, a small bowl of guacamole (smashed Avocado, purple onion slices, garlic powder & lime juice) but no chips, the obvious use of Guac is…a sandwich?

1 Arnold sandwich Thin
2 spoonfuls of Guacamole
1 slice Mozzarella Cheese

Yes, I realize that is perhaps one of the least appetizing foodie pics I’ve put up to date. But, trust me when I say “looks can be deceiving”! I heated the cheese for ~20 seconds in the microwave, smoothed the Guac onto the other side of my “thin” and, voila! MozzaGuac Sammie, success.

*******

Option #2 – Havacchini Sammie

I decided to pick up a “new” (to me) cheese at Trader Joe’s yesterday – Havarti now resides in my fridge and I have a lot of experimenting to do! According to Cheese.com, this is a creamy, soft, “washed-rind” cheese that originates from Denmark. I know I have had it at least once in the last few months as part of a sandwich, somewhere. Very descriptive, I know.  My only memory is that I never thought “ew, this cheese should be removed”, therefore, it must have added some sort of taste that I enjoyed.

Anyway, Havarti made it into the grocery cart and onto my sandwich today. It was accompanied by half of a zucchini that had yet to be used and was definitely nearing its end.

1/2 zucchini, cut into thick strips
1 Arnold Sandwich Thin
1 slice Havarti Cheese
Salt, Pepper (to taste)

I placed the bottom of my Thin, cheese and zucchini slices in the toaster-oven (on broil) for ~5 minutes (until cheese was melted)…

*******

I’m always open to suggestions! Some of my favorite sandwich creations involve fruit! However, in my opinion, you can never go wrong with melted cheese.

7 Comments

Filed under food, lunches, new things!, Nutrition, recipes

7 responses to “Not Your Average Lunch Creation – Round 2

  1. Elizabeth

    I would never have thought to do Havarti and zucchini, but I *love* it with turkey. I was going to say it’s one of my favorite cheeses, but I don’t want to limit myself.

  2. Certainly nothing I would come up with …. but I believe you when yo usay they were yummy!!

  3. cheese is my boyfriend.

  4. I LOVE guac 🙂 Especially with salsa!

  5. Both of those sandwiches sound delicious! Looks really can be deceiving! Some of my favorite foods are ugly (Indian food, anyone?) 🙂

    I would love to meet you for fro yo! I’ll probably be in DC at the end of July/early August. I’ll let you know!

  6. I like havarti alot. It used to be one of our main cheeses at the coffee shop I worked at it college. And I make a similar avo sandwich. Honestly, you could put trash + guac/avo on a bun and it’d taste good. :p

Let's Hear It!

