Tuesday Trials: Chard, Inserts & Overnight Oats

After the race on Sunday, we stumbled upon a Farmer’s Market in downtown Annapolis. When there are white tents with fresh produce staring at me, I’m drawn to them! When there are vegetables with bright, beautiful colors, I grab them. Therefore, I walked away with this gorgeous bunch:

How can you resist that gorgeous deep pink/red/magenta hue?! I could not. I’ve never had Swiss Chard (to my knowledge), and I’ve certainly never cooked with it – so, I bought this bunch for $3.  To get inspiration with new foods, I browse recipes online until I find a few that I can mold together, creating my own.

Cooking Swiss Chard, Lesson 1: Separate the stems from the leaves!

Red Rosemary Roasted Swiss Chard

1 bunch Red Swiss Chard
Olive Oil
Rosemary, Black Pepper
Grated Parmesan Cheese
1/4 c Purple onion slices

  

Heat the oven to 400*. Separate the stems from the chard leaves, and cut into small pieces. In a 2-in deep baking dish, toss the stem pieces with Olive Oil, pepper and Rosemary. Roast for ~20 minutes. Add the leaves and onion, tossing in another ~1 tbsp Olive Oil, and a small handful of Rosemary. Roast for another 5 minutes. Remove from oven and toss in Grated Parmesan Cheese to taste. Makes ~2.5 servings.

I served this with Sauteed Tempeh (coated in marinara sauce).
Tempeh + Roasted Red Swiss Chard:

  

Protein: Tempeh (this stuff is loaded!)
Fat: Tempeh, Cheese
Carbs: Tempeh
Iron: Swiss Chard!

Notice the Tempeh in every category??
Great for athletes who aren’t big fans of pasta and/or vegetarians!

******

Yesterday, my knee was sore to a point where I walked down stairs slightly sideways. That is never a good sign. I reluctantly took the day off from any sort of exercise, and finally bought new Inserts for my running shoes. My new shoes come in tonight; I needed both (inserts  + shoes) desparately. I’d rather not admit how many miles I’ve logged on the old ones – but let’s just say I hesitantly took out the old shoes with new inserts out today…

Verdict: No knee pain!

Luckily my old shoes lasted for one more run, and the new inserts did their job proudly. I was up and out the door by 5:30 a.m. for a cool morning run (60* mornings, please stay!!) – 5.25 miles, ~47 minutes a perfect post-race recovery run.

******

I did a little prep last night to save myself time this morning. I’m always a little rushed with my new run + get ready for work + leave by 7:30 a.m. routine.  I’m also not a fan of hot run + warm shower + hot oatmeal and coffee, now that summer is here! So, I finally tried them – Overnight Oats.

I stirred 1/4 cup Oats in 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt (Plain, non-fat, TJ’s brand), and let it sit in the fridge overnight. This morning, I added 1 sliced banana, 1 tbsp Natural Peanut butter and a drizzle of Agave.

Verdict: just as delicious, cool and refreshing as I had hoped! With the temperatures continuing to climb, I’ll definitely be using this method more often so I can still enjoy my morning oats. 🙂 Plus, this option provides much more protein (Greek Yogurt), so it’s perfect for a post-run meal.

Whats your favorite hot summer morning breakfast?

12 Comments

Filed under DC, dinners, early morning, food, new things!, Nutrition, recipes, running

12 responses to “Tuesday Trials: Chard, Inserts & Overnight Oats

  1. Swiss chard is something ELSE I have never tried. And I never would have known that you eat the stems too. Nice!

    Glad the knee feels better with your new inserts. PHEW!

    I hear you on not wanting hot breakie on a hot summer day…. I like cold cereal w/ milk!

  2. Oh, and ^^ first ^^ 😛

  3. bad girl, running with old shoes! be careful with those knees!

  4. Glad to see you are moving and grooving, take it easy and don’t overdo it in a fit of joy:)

    I have never tried swiss chard. The name itself sounds pretty intense. tasty?!

  5. I have to try that with my oatmeal. I don’t want it anymore once it’s hot out, but cereal just doesn’t hold me over!

  6. Liz

    I’ve jumped on the overnight oats train also. Since it’s berry season I’ve been adding blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, etc.

  7. I saw swiss chard at my farmers market this weekend too but had NO idea how to cook it so didn’t pick any up! I will have to try it I suppose!

  8. Elizabeth

    I’ve never been a huge swiss chard fan, but I do like the way it looks. I used to work in a produce market and occasionally we’d get rainbow chard in, too. Pretty much the same, but a lot more color. So really, I just think of it as decoration.

  9. Greek yogurt! Definitely my favorite post-run breakfast on these hot mornings. Pretty much exactly how you prepared yours. Hot oatmeal is not appealing…even after a cold shower.

    And that swiss chard looks gorgeous. Next farmers market excursion, I’m definitely buying some.

  10. I’ve never had swiss chard. I get a little nervous about trying things I’ve never cooked before (and assume the bf won’t like). Ha.

  11. Wow, I think swiss chard is one veggie I have yet to try. Hmm, now I’m intrigued and have to find some.

    Great job on the run, especially after your 1/2. I am sure your body appreciated the rest but it has to feel good to be running again.

    Have a lovely night! 🙂

  12. Overnight oats! I’ve done these hot with steel-cut oats before, but it just occurred to me I could do the same thing with regular slow-cooking oats, too! Thanks for a great idea!

Let's Hear It!

