“Run to Eat, Eat to Run”

My morning run routine has officially moved in, unpacked, and settled itself into my agenda. We’re getting along very well!

Yesterday morning I met Anne P for a planned -8-miles. By 8:00 a.m. it was already a hot and humid summer day in DC! Check out her post for some fun pictures before/after, and the gorgeous trail we ran up and down.  Luckily we had some shaded areas, but the heat takes its toll pretty quickly. Anne was having some issues with a tight/sore/angry calf muscle, and I was happy to oblige with a few walk breaks. We ended up doing ~6.5 miles in ~75 minutes, which is still a good morning workout if you ask me! 🙂

Today, I joined the Tuesday morning group at 6:30 a.m. (late, by my new standards). This group meets at the same spot I’ve been joining my a.m-buddy, but things look very different an hour later! The sun is out, people are moving around, and the temperature is climbing UP. Our route passed the Kennedy Center, went across Roosevelt Bridge, hopped on the Mt Vernon trail, up and over the Key Bridge, and took us back through Georgetown. After climbing Connecticut Ave to get back home, I did a total of 6.5 miles in 57 minutes.

*******

One thing I love about a morning-workout is having that amped up Metabolism, and endorphin flow, throughout the day! Your body is asking for those nutrients back, to keep you going and alert. This is the lunchbox that I take to work everyday:

I love this philosophy. In college, when I started training and running more for endurance (i.e. my first half-marathon), it completely changed how I ate for the better. I ate to fuel my runs and help my body recover – what I chose for each meal mattered! Has any change in your exercise routine affected the way you eat?

For my morning runs, I always refuel with oatmeal. Today, that was oats, peanut butter, banana slices, and almond milk. My lunch was full of veggies to pack some natural nutrients into the afternoon:

My salad contained:

Avocado chunks, Grape tomatoes, 1/2 cup yellow corn, 1/2 cup kidney beans, spinach leaves, purple onion slices and Salsa.

Protein: beans, veggies
Fat: avocado
Carbs: Corn, apple

I added an apple on the side for a sweet and healthy crunch! But, I also enjoyed a little piece of dark chocolate, as per usual. 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under DC, early morning, food, lunches, Nutrition

10 responses to ““Run to Eat, Eat to Run”

  1. Nice work, lady! If I could get my act together and wake up a wee bit earlier, it would be fabulous to get my runs in every morning. For now, a mini workout will do.

  2. I am definitely learning to look at food more as a fuel for running, and feeling so much better overall as a result. I love that lunch box! Too cute.

    Nice work on the AM runs!

  3. Great post! And I love your lunchbox! As for me, yes – running definitely changed the way I eat. I was trying to lose some weight and therefore didn’t eat enough (not horribly, but I was definitely restricting). When I started running, I had to take a look at what would fuel me through a run best. That led to more whole foods…which gradually transformed my entire diet. It seems second nature to eat healthfully now.

  4. I heart your lunchbox. I want to pack my lunch now.

  5. I want that lunchbox! Great motto 🙂

  6. I agree! I run every morning and find that I am so amped to eat all day. I can’t imagine not refueling properly. I would be a miserable grump if I didn’t eat well after my morning runs.

  7. J

    Cute lunch box! I usually do eat to fuel my body for running, but not tonight! I just had some candy and now I feel gross! Ugg i hate when I do that!

    Great job on getting up in the morning! It really is a great feeling and the weather is perfect!

  8. I could not agree more with you and your lunchbox—sports nutrition is a self-fulfilling mandate for me. I typically run at night these days, and my evening runs lead me to fuel appropriately throughout the day. And when I stray from my usual healthy habits, my body lets me know!

  9. your salad looks goooooooooooood. And I kind of want that lunch box now. Where’d you get it?

  10. i need to start getting in 5am runs.. problemo is, its still dark and im afraid!!! wahhhh LOL ❤ way to go sista!

Let's Hear It!

