Asparagus & Naan Pizza

While my Memorial Day holiday didn’t involve any sort of tradition, it did involve a delicious new pizza concoction. I picked out a package of frozen Naan bread at Trader Joe’s last week,  as a first-time grocery purchase there were no grand recipe schemes in my head yet, but I like buying random new things each week to see what I’ll come up with.

In my opinion, you can never go wrong with a mix of roasted vegetables, cheese, and a delicious bread. At the last minute, I added in some chunky-vegetable Marinara sauce, which means I technically ended up with a pizza!

Asparagus & Naan Pizza

~8 asparagus spears (frozen)
purple onion slices
8 cherry tomatoes, halved
~1/4 cup sliced mushrooms
2 slices Mozzarella cheese
2 slices Naan bread (frozen)

~1/4 cup Marinara sauce, divided
Seasonings to taste

Heat the oven to 400*. In a casserole dish, I combined all of the veggies, drizzled with a little bit of Canola Oil, and seasoned with oregano, garlic powder and basil leaves. They roasted for ~12 minutes. After 10 minutes, I put the two Naan slices in the oven (on a cookie sheet), to heat them for ~2 minutes.

Remove everything from the oven. Top the bread with pasta sauce, cheese, and vegetables. Voila!

Protein: Cheese, bread, veggies
Carbs (and Fiber): Naan bread
Fat: Cheese, oil

******

How do like to eat Naan?

I foresee an avocado + bean spread for my next trial, but I’m always open to suggestions! 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, recipes

8 responses to “Asparagus & Naan Pizza

  1. I love the saag paneer that often goes well with Naan at Indian restaurants. The TJ’s version is good, but not as good as the authentic stuff. I agree, any bread topped with cheese, tomato sauce and other goods is fabulous.

  2. I always think about picking up the naan in the grocery store but always skip over it. I love it at Indian restaurants, so I’m not sure what my aversion is. I’m definitely going to pick it up soon!

  3. I’ve never tried naan but everything looks delicious!

  4. Oh gosh i LOOOVe naan and especially dipping it into tofu green curry or even salsa. Try makin’ pizza with it. 🙂 It comes out crunchy, doughy, but yet holds up well to toppings! Yum!

  5. I enjoy naan dipped in any Indian concoction/sauce, especially curry! I don’t typically buy it at the grocery store, but enjoy it to the max when I dine at Indian restaurants.

  6. YUM, I love homemade pizza. Haven’t tried Naan for pizza but it sounds like a good idea!

  7. I like naan italian-style, with pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, and parmesan! yummmmm.

  8. I made a garlic and asparagus ‘za awhile back. holy moley it was good. I agree bread + veggies + cheese = my tummy loves.

Let's Hear It!

