Successfully Sauteed Tempeh & MHRs

I’m a big fan of Tempeh, especially when compared to its common faux-meat partner, Tofu. The texture is nutty, and the flavor varies with your preferred marinading and cooking methods. This post explains the fermented soy protein in more detail.  I’ve ordered it once or twice at Vegetarian restaurants, but my first dinner attempt was definitely unsuccessful. Dry, crispy, and tasteless – I couldn’t even drown it in Marinara to salvage it.

I don’t like to give up on foods; Tempeh and I had another date tonight!

*******

I picked the Organic Flax Tempeh this time, and chose to sauté instead of bake. I also chose colorful vegetables to star with our guest of honor.

1 package Organic Flax Tempeh, cut into cubes
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Thyme, Oregano, Black Pepper
1 can Asparagus stems, drained*
garlic powder, black pepper
1 large Sweet Potato

*Pantry item that needed to be used! I prefer fresh, but work with what you have, right? Right.

With the oven at 400*, drain asparagus stems and season with garlic powder/salt/pepper. Bake for ~12 minutes. Stove: heat oil on medium in a nonstick skillet, add Tempeh and seasonings of choice. Sauté for 4-6 minutes on each side, until brown and/or heated through. In the meantime, microwave the sweet potato (wash it first!)  for 7-8 minutes.

Voila! A relatively quick dinner that will definitely fill you up. This provides 2 servings. If you look at the Tempeh alone, you’ll find 20g of protein and 11g of fiber per serving (1/2 package)! That’s a recipe for satiety, right there.

Protein: Tempeh
Carbs: Tempeh (whole grains), Sweet Potato (nature’s starch!)
Fat: Oil, Tempeh (from added Flaxseed)

*******

In running and further HR-experimentation news, I hit a “new” Max Heart Rate (MHR) this morning. It was not intentional, and I hope I never see that number again!

With an afternoon forecast calling for 90*, a morning run sounded much more appealing. K met me at 5:30 a.m., and we set off through Rock Creek Park.

I made it a point to keep my HR around 150 during my warm-up mile to meet her – feels good and easy, perfect warm-up! Then, we ran together; her pace is faster, but it’s always manageable for me. We usually talk, which adds to the workout in a good way. We don’t usually include a long uphill climb through the Zoo.

As we progressed on our route, I knew that my HR  was getting up there. I checked it – yup, hello 180. When we passed the Zoo, it just made since to go through – it would round out a loop for me that got me home in time. I always forget how difficult this mile can be…

Halfway up, I was hurting. I was breathing hard, my stomach started to talk, and my energy levels quickly walked out on me. What did the watch say? 2-0-5. Ouch! Yes, I’m fully aware that this little gadget may not be 100% accurate. However, either way, that is at least 5 beats per minute higher than I’ve ever seen. And, either way, I met the puke-threshold today.

I wanted to stop (more than once), but didn’t. I will take it easy tomorrow, letting my legs and heart know that I appreciate their efforts.

My run ended with 5.2 miles in 45:32 minutes. Tough, but great, way to start the day.

8 Comments

Filed under DC, dinners, early morning, Nutrition, recipes, running buddy, running hills

8 responses to “Successfully Sauteed Tempeh & MHRs

  1. Hella workout!!! Heat, talking, fast pace, HILL! I don’t speak HR, but even I know that’s high!

    Enjoy the break tomorrow.

  2. 205!? WOW. I’ve never seen that number! I’d probably have to stop on the side of the rode and take a nap!

  3. purpleshoe runs

    WHOA 205! sounds like you were working : ) I started HR training in February and really like it–I’m enjoying hearing about your adventures!

  4. Nice run!!! My avg is generally higher the hotter the temps! In the winter it sucks trying to bust out a good one!

  5. I have never seen anything even close to 200! Wowza, lady, be careful!

    & I found tempeh in my grocery store last week…you are inspiring me to try it…..soon. 🙂

  6. Elizabeth

    You already know I think you’re a little crazy (re: the heart rate), but more power to you for being able to get up and go that early.

  7. I’ve been wanting to marinate some tempeh lately too! I love how cheap tofu and tempeh are for protein sources. Just wish the manfriend would enjoy them as much as I do. Organic chicken and salmon is spendy.

  8. wowsers. I think I’ve seen mine reach 180ish, but that was after I had stopped running and was doing my walking cool down. I’m sure the heat didn’t help!

Let's Hear It!

