Quick Tomato Quinoa Casserole

Before I dive into the food, it’s time for a quick ST30 Update for this week!

Sunday – 30 Day Shred, Level 2: I may or may not have ended this (after the cooldown) by laying, close to death, on the floor and declaring that Jillian is insane. And I love it.

Monday – Morning planks and leg raises: I did 3 planks for 60 sec each. My shoulders and abs were both confused as to why I thought they had anything left in them (see above: Shred, level 2), but we made it through each one.

Tuesday: “Arnold”s (arm routine that works the shoulders), squats, bicep curls and planks.

Challengers, what have you done so far this week? Share your progress!

******

Dinner tonight was another successful new creation.

I bought one large tomato at Whole Foods last week – it was local (from Maryland) and for some reason I just could not resist it. Perfectly round, firm, juicy, bright red and just waiting to be an inspiration for some sort of meal! Remembering Caitlin’s dinner last week, I took that casserole concept and went with it:

Quick Tomato Quinoa Casserole
makes 2 servings

1/2 cup Quinoa, uncooked
3 eggs
1/4 cup Roasted Red pepper hummus
1/4 cup Salsa
2 cups Broccoli (frozen and heated)
1/4 cup Garbanzo Beans (rinsed)
1/2 tomato, cut into pieces
Ground Red pepper, black pepper

I used frozen broccoli, but you could also use fresh and steam it or roast it first.

This could not be easier: cook your broccoli, chop your tomato, and then combine everything in a large mixing bowl. Heat the oven to 400*, pour the mixture into a greased casserole dish, and bake for ~33 minutes. Let it cool for another 3-4 minutes before eating, it’s hot!

Smokin'

Yes, I made a pattern with my cheese strips.

The mixture, topped with cheese, was a great combination of flavor and texture. Crunchy quinoa, thick eggs, baked vegetables, and melted creamy Jalapeno Monterey Jack come together very nicely.

According to my calculations, this yields ~420+/- calories per serving, with a good nutrient distribution:

Protein: Quinoa, eggs, garbanzo beans, cheese
Fat: cheese, eggs
Carbs: Quinoa

Plus you have a great nutrient load from the broccoli, tomatoes, garbanzo beans and salsa! Enjoy.

6 Comments

Filed under dinners, new things!, Nutrition, recipes, STn30 challenge

6 responses to “Quick Tomato Quinoa Casserole

  1. I love how you breakdown what we are getting from your meal creations. So much healthy deliciousness!

  2. This dish look great, especially for a casserole, ha ha! ANd its gluten free. NICE!

  3. Elizabeth

    Mm…casseroles are so quick and easy – love it.

    Also, you and your 60 second planks…I’m lucky if I can do them for half that time.

  4. Lacey

    lol, love the cheese strip patterning. i think you have a future in casserole presentation!!!!!!!!!!!! bonus points šŸ™‚ looks really great!!! i don’t buy tomatoes often enough. but hey, i just dealt with my first onion, so maybe a tomato is next…

    great job on your plankage and core/strength stuff! šŸ™‚

  5. i made this last night! it was very good šŸ™‚

  6. Yum – I need to try this recipe. I love casserole type dishes like this & adore quinoa so this looks like the perfect recipe for me!!

Let's Hear It!

