Five Things Friday: Parents in town, edition

As I quickly consume my bowl-o-oats, I’m simultaneously bringing you a quick post to welcome the weekend.

1) My parents are here! In case you didn’t catch that title; they’re visiting for the weekend, and I have today OFF of work to wander around and play tourguide. It’s a gorgeous day in DC and I’m excited to explore the city.

2) My day started with a 7 mile run. I couldn’t have asked for better running weather; I set out at 7 a.m. for 7 miles and it was perfect. I LOVE starting my day with a good workout. It simply can not be beat.

3) Yes, ST30 is still going! Don’t think you’re off the hook, challengers. I may have slacked on my daily updates this week, but you better believe those short ST sessions have been sneaking into each day. Planks, pushups, arm raises, squats and lunges are taking over my brain. And I love it. What have you been doing? I’ll post my recap soon!

4) I finally bought Agave, and I love it. It was calling my name from the shelf at TJ’s last night; we’ve been out of honey for too long now, and this seemed like the perfect time to try something new. It’s on my oats right now, and I may be having a little morning affair with it. Yum.

5) The Healthy Living Summit SOLD OUT! I can’t wait for August, if you know me, you know I love nothing more than talking food, cooking, running, and fueling. If you’re going, let me know!

Happy Friday!

10 Comments

Filed under DC, running, STn30 challenge, weekends

10 responses to “Five Things Friday: Parents in town, edition

  1. FIRST! πŸ˜‰

    Happy Friday! Have fun in DC with the parents today!

  2. Liz

    I can’t wait to see you present at HLS! I’ve been doing well with ST30 – one night I stayed up late with my friend drinking wine and then remembered, so I just did a bunch of squats before bed. Better than nothing right? Have fun with your parents!

  3. J

    Have a great weekend with your parents! And 7 miles this morning! Great job! That is a great way to start the day!

  4. I got a ticket for the HLS! I’m so excited to go and meet everyone…. πŸ™‚ Happy Friday!

  5. have so much fun with your parents!! I think it’s supposed to be nice this weekend

  6. oh you & your challenge!! i’ve been doing crunches – shoulder gets grumpy after 1-2 planks, but my *other side plank is amazing. πŸ™‚

    have a great weekend!

  7. Elizabeth

    Hope you and the madre are having fun! Enjoy your day off!

  8. SO fun that your parents are visiting!! Have a great weekend with them πŸ™‚

  9. Have fun with your folks!

    I’ve been good about my strength training. Tuesday night I ran 14×400 track repeats and my legs sure got a workout! I was too wiped out to do much else so I did a variety of crunches/curl-ups later that night.

    Wednesday and Thursday I did Wii EA Sports Active workouts. I like them over DVDs sometimes b/c it’s always different!

  10. Heather, have an awesome time with the parents! What fun. I wish I were going to the summit, but I couldn’t decide if I wanted to swing the costs. And of course now I really wish I had just sucked it up and bought a ticket!

    Update on my strength training…every morning still doing my pushups AND this week I really focused on getting to the gym. I’ve done three weight lifting sessions, which I really tried to challenge myself.

Let's Hear It!

