Pancake fuel for a Busy Sunday

Sunday just tends to feel like a “fun breakfast” day; D is always up for pancakes, and I finally bought some whole-wheat flour yesterday = win, win! I prefer to make things from scratch, so I referred back to Heather’s post on the “perfect pancakes” and made my own version…

HC’s Whole-wheat Oatmeal Pancakes

1 cup Whole-wheat Flour
1 cup Old fashioned Oats
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp Salt
Cinnamon (use freely)
3 Tbsp Water
2/3 cup Greek Yogurt (0%)
2/3 cup Rice Milk (or your Milk of Choice)
1 egg

Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl; slowly mix in the “wet” ingredients (water, yogurt, egg). Heat your skillet/griddle on medium (with some cooking spray!), and cook until they’re slightly brown on each side.

(Sidenote: ~half of this batter went into the freezer for another day. It makes ~8-10 pancakes.)

These were deliciously thick, filling, and full of whole-grains! We had them with a side of strawberries, sliced bananas, and a little bit of Light Maple Syrup.

Pancakes, for two

Again, I LOVED the texture of these. I’m not typically a pancake’s biggest fan, but the oatmeal added so much bulk and earthy flavor. Combined with cinnamon (always a good idea, just sayin’) and fresh fruit = Breakfast perfection. 🙂

(Yes, that’s the top of my pineapple from yesterday. Cute, no? It’s gracing the table for now.)

*******

Fueled by pancakes, and an hour or so of relaxed-coffee sipping, we headed down to the Dupont Farmer’s Market – i.e. my favorite Sunday Morning venture!

Step outside my door and you’re greeted with the shade of this huge tree and clear blue sky – i.e. my favorite weekend DC Weather…

Moving on – my favorite things about the Farmer’s Market are…
the bright colors,
tasty samples,
and gorgeous flowers!

While I do love me some samples, I prefer to leave some room for a real lunch. After some fruit-munching, I was in the mood for veggies. Levantes and their wraps were calling to us….

Vegetable Wrap with Tsatziki Sauce & Tomato Cucumber Salad

The sauce had a little kick – I now have a craving to experiment with some greek yogurt and seasonings to recreate this! It was a good mix of soft, baked vegetables with crisp lettuce pieces and creamy tsatziki.

This time I was fueling for a bike ride! I was having some motivational lapses, again. I’ve mentioned this a few times in the last couple of weeks – I think being sick, twice, has really messed with me. On top of that, I miss having a GOAL in mind. I’ve started a search for some upcoming races and I’ll be posting my new schedule soon! I. Can’t. Wait. to hit that “Register” button a few times.

After reading tweets about Ashley’s Ironman today (!!!! whoa) and watching some LIVE coverage of the Tour of California with D (he searched relentlessly until it finally showed up on the ‘net! Impressive persistance 😉 ), I knew there were really no excuses. GET OUT THERE and Just Go.

Seventy  minutes and ~15 miles of Hills later (whew, that’s what happens when you test a new route around here, geeze), I felt that good kind of exhausted. It’s finally time to wrap up this day and get a new week started…

9 Comments

Filed under DC, food, recipes, weekends

9 responses to “Pancake fuel for a Busy Sunday

  1. Liz

    I’ve been looking for a good pancake recipe – I just may have to steal yours… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Pancake fuel for a Busy Sunday « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  3. Lacey

    what a happy post!!

    did you make that recipe up???? sounds awesome! i wonder if i could use something in place of the greek yogurt b/c i have all the other ingredients on hand…

    i loooooooooove lurrrrrrve lovvvve farmers’ markets!!! i need to hit some up soon. it’s just starting to be the season. you got some great pics. mmmm strawberries 🙂

    and FAB job getting out there! love the inspiration you got!!!! hills are killer, too. i’ve always thought it was easier to run or walk a hill than bike it.

  4. As always, these look delicious—and what a great idea to put the excess batter in the freezer!

  5. your pineapple has inspired me (also, a grilled-pineapple recipe in a magazine + a new grill) to make dinner around pineapple tonight. yummmm!

  6. Elizabeth

    Your food photos made me huuuuuungry. I’ve yet to get to the farmer’s market, but I’m thinking it might be in store this Sunday.

  7. Those look like some tasty pancakes. Yes, cinnamon should always be used generously…in pancakes, waffles, french toast, green monster smoothies, oatmeal, etc!

  8. i’m convinced i need to join a gym just so i can get lost on a stationary bike while watching TV! sounds like the perfect kind of sunday 🙂

  9. Mmm, farmers market goodness!!

    That wrap sounds delish, and great job on the ride!

Let's Hear It!

