Baked Tofupea Balls ‘n Pasta

I still had 1/2 of a Tofu block left from experiment #1, and wanted to be a little more creative with it this time around. Over the weekend (in NC), D snatched a box of  Quinoa-pasta from the pantry – I’ve never seen this in stores, but was obviously intrigued (as anything “new” and food-related interests me…).

What would combine Tofu and Quinoa noodles? Let the creative juices start flowing…

Tofu/Chickpea “meatballs” & Quinoa Pasta

1/4 tsp Baking Powder
1 tbsp Flour
1 (7.75 oz) can Garbanzo Beans/Chickpeas
1/4 block Extra Firm Tofu, cut into small cubes
Purple Onion slices
Seasonings: Garlic Powder, Rosemary, Thyme, Pepper, Basil leaves
1 tbsp Olive Oil

Preheat the oven to 350*. Combine all ingredients (except oil)  in a Food Processor and pulse until it creates a soft mixture.

Pour the oil into a large bowl, and add the chickpea mixture. Knead the mixture + oil with your hands, and create ~6 small “balls”. Place on a baking sheet (add a non-stick spray or foil sheet). Bake for ~15-20 minutes, until crisp and light-golden brown on the outside.

1 cup frozen Spinach leaves
1 cup frozen Broccoli Florets
2 svgs Quinoa noodles
~1/2 cup Marinara sauce, divided
Parmesan Cheese, grated

While the tofupea balls are baking, cook the pasta as directed (in boiling water for ~8-9 minutes). Combine the broccoli and spinach in a bowl and microwave for ~4 minutes, until heated through. Add it all together, and enjoy!

Now, close up…

I LOVED this tofuballs – you couldn’t taste the tofu, but it added protein and calcium. Win, win! I also love adding green veggies to pasta; it was a bowl full of flavor, textures, and lots of nutrients.

******

What’s your favorite way to add protein to your pasta?

10 Comments

Filed under blogging, dinners, new things!, recipes

10 responses to “Baked Tofupea Balls ‘n Pasta

  1. Those look fun AND yummy! I love your experimentation. I usually use plain old chicken but sometimes chickpeas as well.

  2. I definitely have to try that!
    I guess I have to get a food processor. My mini-chop is too small, and I know my blender will fail (bean dip disaster).

  3. Elizabeth

    I admit, I was skeptical about the meatless meatballs, but they look delicious. And I wouldn’t know they were tofu-based if you hadn’t said so.

    As for the pasta – does the quinoa have any distinct flavor?

  4. Lacey

    yum!!!!!!!!!!! i wonder if i could make this without a food processor ? i suppose i could try it in a blender. i am always looking for new ways to use tofu (tho i could bake it every time and be perfectly happy lol, i’m a repeat offender like no other). this seriously looks delicious and it’s officially on my to do list. way to go! creativity to the max!! 🙂 thank goodness you have a food processor, yo!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  5. Lacey

    p.s. i hope you feel better soon!!!!!!!!!

  6. Looks very interesting! I’ve been wanting to make faux burgers lately. I think seasoning can make a world of difference so that you don’t even notice there isn’t meat and all that fat!

  7. I will be making these this weekend after I have gone grocery shopping(dont have tofu in the house right now), because they look amazing and I think I would love them!! 🙂

  8. 1) LOVE the tofu innovation!
    2) do tell more about these quinoa noodles…

  9. Pingback: Calling for Kale « Dietitian on the Run

  10. Pingback: Friday Five: Tried & True | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

