Friday Food Focus: Tempeh

In an attempt to understand more about meat substitutes and soy products, I’ve stepped way out of my box. Last week I tried Tofu (and still have some leftovers for further experimenting); this week the focus is on Tempeh. 

This food wasn’t completely foreign to me; I’ve tried it before at a Vegetarian restaurant close to my office.  A former coworker of mine is Vegan, and had to do a little convincing. Between a tasty Tempeh & Jicama sandwich, and some slightly-off but oddly creamy and rich Tofu ice cream, I slowly veered away from my bad attitude towards Soy.

I digress. After picking up a package of “Garden Veggie Tempeh” at Whole Foods, it was time for test.

******

What is Tempeh?

Tempeh is fermented from cooked soybeans; a Rhizobus mold (bacteria) binds the beans into a compact white cake. It is a probiotic food (like yogurt), containing bacteria that are beneficial to the digestive system.

In Indonesia, this food is a staple source of protein and has been around for hundreds of years. More recently it has become a popular Vegetarian meat-substitute, seen in a variety of dishes. Like Tofu, it’s extremely versatile, lending its texture to marinades, seasonings, and various cooking methods (fry, bake, roast, saute, etc).

(Source)

How is it different than Tofu?

According to a Wellsphere post, by Registered Dietitian Andy Bellatti, the fermentation process reduces the phytate content in tempeh. This makes zinc and iron more “bioavailable” (more easily absorbed by the body). Tempeh is also higher in fiber content, as it is made from the whole soybean (vs Tofu, made from coagulated Soy milk).

The two also vary greatly in texture; tofu is typically soft and spongy, while tempeh is firm and chewy. They are similar when it comes to one thing –  each food lends itself to various seasonings/flavors, but lacks any significant taste on its own.

What nutrients does Tempeh provide?

This food is very high in protein, providing up to 40 g per 1 cup serving, according to the list provided by the Vegetarian Resource Group.  As mentioned above, it’s also higher in Fiber (~7 g per cup) and essential fats (Omega-3). It is also a good source of calcium, iron, zinc, magnesium, phosphorus and Vitamin B12 (a problem nutrient for vegetarians!). To read more about its nutrient power, check out the page by World’s Healthiest Foods.

*******

If you like the texture of tempeh, it’s hard to go wrong with this food! Clearly it pulls weight with all the nutritional benefits, and it’s relatively inexpensive. I paid ~$2.50 for two servings of the Garden Veggie variety, and paired with the Broccoli-stuffed Sweet Potato.

My mistake? Baking without marinade! I have had good tempeh before, so luckily I knew that the dry, crumbly block on my plate had much more potential than my cooking gave it credit for. I still ate it – no wasting food (or protein!) around here! But the lesson was learned; when all the recipes you browse involve a marinade, and/or basting, or seasoning, etc – there’s a good reason! Listen up, and follow the steps. 🙂 I’ll be back for you, Tempeh. We will have a delicious meal together, I promise.

*****

Have you tried Tempeh? What’s your favorite version?

10 Comments

Filed under food, groceries, new things!, Nutrition

10 responses to “Friday Food Focus: Tempeh

  1. I love teriyaki marinated tempeh that’s grilled. Put it inside a sandwich w/ the works and voila! So good.

  2. Thanks for educating me on what Tempeh is. I honestly had no idea…. so I have obviously not tried it… It makes me a little nervous since I don’t care for Tofu but it sounds like I would like the consistency of this better..

  3. I agree…. I’m not a fan of the texture of tofu but this makes me want to try tempeh in my quest for more protein.

  4. Amy

    Thank you thank you!! I have always wondered about tempeh, especially after seeing so many bloggers write about it. I’ll definitely have to try and get my hands on some and see how I like it compared to tofu!

  5. Can’t say I’ve tried it, though it sounds like it’s worth it. Hello Protein! Thanks for all the info.

    Have a great weekend!!

  6. jawsome

    I can’t really get my head around soy products, but then I’m not a vegetarian so I don’t have to 🙂 I definitely did use your post a while back about hummus though – I made myself some “yummus” (that’s what we call it in our house) and added artichoke hearts. Thanks for the inspiration! (also I am jealous of your mad new bike skills – my fiance is a cat 1 cyclist and he is always trying to get me out there…some day!)

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Friday Food Focus: Tempeh « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  8. Liz

    I LOVE tempeh. The texture is way more “meatier” than tofu so even non-vegetarians will like it if it’s cooked correctly. One of my favorite ways to eat it is taco style. First I cut it up in bite size pieces. Then I use the pre-made taco seasoning packets or my own seasonings and some olive oil to create the marinade. To cook I actually just stir fry it rather than bake it. Then you can use it as taco filling, in a taco salad, etc.

  9. Pingback: Friday Food Focus: Agave « Dietitian on the Run

  10. Pingback: Tempeh HAT Sandwich | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

