weekending, DC-style

Two days just never seems to give us enough “weekend”, am I right?

Saturday morning I joined the Group for run; DC graced us with summer temps and humidity, and this was Not an easy jaunt. My energy levels have been pretty low this week, which didn’t add up to a “fun” workout. It was nice to get back with my running-buddies, that’s definitely providing more motivation to get up and go. But, I was pushing it and eventually decided to listen to the bod. The legs and I cut it short at 7 miles, and called it a day.

*****

Grocery shopping at Whole Foods may be my new favorite way to spend Saturday afternoon. I could spend hours in grocery stores – especially WF. We grabbed some Tempeh – another new food to try this week – and strolled down the aisle full of bath oils, candles, and weird supplements, to soak in that crazy-awesome fragrance that all things combined creates.

After a busy afternoon of talking Sports Nutrition for the Potomac River Run Race Expo (which was so fun, btw. I could spend hours talking Nutrition & Running with runners!), it was finally time to experiement with some of those groceries and cook some dinner!

Shrimp Taco Wraps

2 svgs Shrimp
Red, yellow and green pepper slices
Avocado-Salsa sauce
2 whole-wheat tortillas

Heat ~1 tbsp oil in a frying pan; saute shrimp (seasoned with a sprinkle of each – black pepper and ground red pepper), for 2-3 min on each side.

Mix the sauce: I combined 2 (big) spoonfuls of Oikos 0% Greek Yogurt, ~1/2 cup Chunky Salsa, and 1/4 of an avocado (cut into chunks). Put all ingredients into a bowl, use a fork to mash the avocado chunks, and mix together until smooth and creamy!

Combine Shrimp & pepper slices, and top with the Avocado salsa! I was in heaven for the few minutes it took to consume this delicious wrap. These will definitely appear on my plate again soon!

*****

This morning we woke up early to check out the Dupont Farmer’s Market. It’s a DC staple; often appearing on the list of “things to do” if you’re in the city. I sampled many delicious apples, fresh salsas, homemade breads and jams. We browsed the vendors, but refrained from any purchases (WF groceries are stuffing the kitchen for now). I made mental notes of things I’ll be returning for next Sunday 😉

******

To knock one more thing off that DC-list, we met some friends to brunch at Founding Farmers – first time meeting Angie, after years of being blogger-friends! Fun! On another note, FF quickly jumped to the top of my favorite restaurants in this city. A full review of FF really deserves a post of its own, therefore I’ll be back soon to see what their lunch and dinner menu has to offer!

Our table couldn’t resist the “Banana Fluffer Nutter” starter, and the French-pressed “El Savadorian” coffee.

I chose the “New Orleans Style French Toast” with a side of strawberries in place of the Maple Syrup & butter. D went with the Belgium Waffle & Bananas Foster. Needless to say, I still sit here (3 hours later) in a delicious food coma.

Perfect bike-riding fuel, right? Let’s hope so… I’m about to head out for a long ride with Bici and my friend, Kate – enjoying the end of this weekend-thing!

*****



3 Comments

Filed under DC, food, things that make me Happy, weekends

3 responses to “weekending, DC-style

  1. yummm…it’s been too long since i’ve been out to a good breakfast. Manfriend and I are always biking or running. YOu know how it is! That french toast looks awesome. And I love that it’s getting to be time for farmers market. Fresh veggies, here I come.

  2. mmm~ that food looks fabulous!! 🙂 hope you had a great bike ride!

  3. Sounds like a fantastic weekend! But yes, too short always…

    MMM, your eats always look delicious!

Let's Hear It!

