G.r.e.a.t Homemade Hummus

One of the main reasons I wanted a Food Processor was to create Hummus however I want to! I LOVE hummus; my two favorites are Roasted Red Pepper hummus and the Cilantro-Lime Hummus (Trader Joe’s brand).  But, there are So many to choose from, and I think it’s a dish you can add any personal flavor to.

So, I used fridge leftovers (artichoke hearts), a can of garbanzo beans, seasonings, and started pulsing! And then I realized something – my ingredients create the acronym “G.r.e.a.t.“. I have to admit, I was excited about this….

GREAT Artichoke Hummus

1 can of Garbanzo Beans (rinse & drain)
1 clove of Garlic, minced
Rosemary
1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive oil
1/2 can Artichoke Hearts (rinse, drain, and cut into pieces for easier processing)
Thyme
Salt/Pepper

 

Just like with the Almond Butter, FP tested my patience again. This toy is teaching me virtues! Scoop, pulse, scoop, pulse pulse pulse, and scoop. It may take a  few tries, but it creates such a delicious outcome!

I used this hummus on my sandwich today. Hummus + Carrots and Cucumber + Whole wheat bread…

 

I love crunchy sandwiches! This was the perfect mix of flavors and textures: soft creamy hummus, crunchy carrots and cucumber, pulled together by soft whole-wheat bread. 

On the side, I had grapefruit slices and a Stoneyfield Yogurt.

Ruby red grapefruits definitely rank among my favorite things, yet I’m convinced I am the messiest grapefruit eater. I get the juice everywhere. But I love it. And I think it’s much more photogenic than the sandwich! Just sayin’.

Protein: Yogurt, Hummus
Carbs: whole-wheat bread, grapefruit slices
Fat: Hummus
Vitamin A: carrots, grapefruit
Vitamin C: Grapefruit
Calcium & Vitamin D: yogurt

And, clearly, there you have a home-packed lunch that packs a PUNCH (i.e. Nutrients all over!). 😉 Enjoy.

7 Comments

Filed under fabulous, food, groceries, lunches, Nutrition

7 responses to “G.r.e.a.t Homemade Hummus

  1. I love hummus… why have I not made it from scratch before?! Thanks for the idea!!!!

    P.S. first! 😉

  2. Elizabeth

    You and your acronyms…I won’t pretend I don’t love them.

  3. Hummus rocks! I need a better food processor so I can make my own!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention G.r.e.a.t Homemade Hummus « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  5. you and your G.D. acronyms….jk I’m the exact same way. And I sure do love some good hummus!

  6. Great hummus recipe! I haven’t ever thought to throw in a can of artichokes. I can’t wait to try it out!

  7. Pingback: A new 20 miler & Spicy Hummus « Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

