GW Parkway Classic 10 miler Race Report

We had to leave 2 hours before the race even started, thanks to the logistics of a Point-to-Point route (i.e. no parking/drop-offs at the start line – must use the shuttle!). It was raining and cold, while we rode in a warm bus to Mt. Vernon; I did not want to get off that bus.

Luckily, when we finally got to the Start, the rain had cooperated and decided to leave us for the day. Adios! We were definitely in for humidity, but the 55-60* temps did us a favor and kept things relatively cool.I suddenly realized I had No idea what this course would be like: Elizabeth’s answer? “Rolling hills…” Oh, man.

Bathroom stop, stretch, contemplate shedding my long sleeve Nike shirt before running, line up with 6,000 runners, and GO!

******

Miles 1-5

8:40, 8:13, 8:08, 8:12, 7:59

The first mile, as usual with big races, was a cluster. There were no corrals or waves, so it was definitely a game of dodge-n-go.  I took off my LS shirt within a mile and hoped it wouldn’t drive me too crazy tied around my waist.

As it turns out, GW Parkway defines rolling hills. Whew! Every time we went down, I knew it’d be matched by an UP soon enough. Figuring this out early was key; use that up/down hill energy wisely!

I Love reaching the halfway point of a 10 mile race – another 5 miles just never seems daunting…

Miles 6-10

7:54, 7:42, 7:52, 7:55, 7:52

Little did I know we were in for at least 2 more miles of uphill Parkway streets. In retrospect, it always helps to look at the course before hand and do a little training to be more prepared. But, with a marathon last month and this being the second of two 10-mile races this month, I had no concerns. So, I clearly did not do my research!

I’m really trying to work on the Mental aspect of running. I know I can run 26.2 miles, I know 10 miles shouldn’t be tough given my “training” over the last few weeks, and I know that I can power up a hill and use my energy wisely.

When I got to the top of one particular incline that seemingly lasted forever, I wanted a quick walk break. I kept thinking “just 10 seconds – just from this cone to that cone – just to take a breather – just uh…..Ah, JUST KEEP RUNNING”. I realized I’ll never be a tougher runner if I don’t push myself. Usually, I’m very relaxed about races, I don’t put a lot of pressure on myself. But, what will happen when I do? Well, why not find out today?

No stopping! I pushed past the fatigue and weakness, and reminded myself that this was nothing compared to those last few marathon miles. Buck up!

With the exception of one or two quick hills, we were mostly in for flat roads for the last 1.5 miles. During the final stretch, I had literally reached that puke-threshold. I thought the PR was out, but that didn’t mean I couldn’t end this one Strong 🙂

photo credit: D …. that Finish Line is in sight

Chip – 1:20:53* – 8:08 avg pace
(Garmin – 1:21:06
didn’t stop it on time, oops!)

136/2143 – Females
11/123 – AG (20 – 24)

*New 10-miler race PR! Not my goal time (1:18), but I’ll take it!

*****

Time to Eat! We went to O’Connell’s for an Irish style Brunch & Mimosas.

D’s breakfast – I’m not gonna lie,
I had some waffle-envy. These were SO good.

My choice: Irish vegetable Fritatta & fruit.
Mushrooms, spinach, cheese of some sort, eggs and melons

Ivan’s Irish-style breakfast combo.
I can’t even identify half of that food…

***********

Needless to say, after an early morning and a tough but fun race? We were exhausted!

Nap? Nope. It was time to continue bike shopping (from yesterday!). I’ll get back t you on that – DOTR will soon be adding cycling to the repertoire…(!!!) 🙂

14 Comments

Filed under food, race report, Races, weekends

14 responses to “GW Parkway Classic 10 miler Race Report

  1. first! yeahhhhhh!

    CONGRATS on the new PR, especially when you thought you didn’t have it. sounds like one tough course!!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention GW Parkway Classic 10 miler Race Report « Dietitian on the Run -- Topsy.com

  3. Cycling…nice! That will be fun to do with D. And congrats on the FAST 10. PUke threshold…i like it.

  4. soooo jealous — it cleared for you. it was POURING, and i do mean POURING rain up in NYC for my half…..i’ll be posting tomorrow morning.

    But girl you are FAST! i hope one day to get that fast!

  5. Great job Heather! I was 11th in my Age group this weekend too!!! 🙂 Your kicking some racing butt! 🙂 Love those mimosas…i WANT ONE!!! 🙂

  6. Hey, great job on the new PR!!!! Sounds like a tough race. The rain let up here just in time for the race as well. Good thing, it actually made for some great racing weather. What is next on your race list?

  7. I had the same experience at the GW Parkway 10-miler last year! Worse: everyone told me before the race that it was flat! The hills could have been OK had I been expecting them … but as you know, when you’re not prepped for them mentally, they HURT. Congrats on the PR on the tough course!

  8. Congrats on the PR! Way to push yourself up those hills!

  9. Elizabeth

    How did I not realize yesterday that you PR-ed? Yay you! I’m glad someone had a good experience with this race. 🙂

  10. Lacey

    you are RIGHT on the heels of your goal time!!! and a NEW PR is not a bad stepping stone 🙂 hehehe. WAY TO PUSH! puke threshhold, can’t hold ya dowwwwn 🙂

    CONGRATS! talk about a killer 2nd half to that race, you did awesome. way to go heather!

  11. great job on the PR!! I had a field hockey tournament in DE this weekend and I figured we’d be playing in downpours and thunder all day Sunday but thankfully the rain held off too! Driving home, well that was another story. We hit some HEAVY downpours but at least we were nice and dry…..on another note, mmm that brunch looks amazing.

  12. nice PR! I handed off the bib to the boy and stayed in bed because my IT band was fussing, but he really enjoyed the race. and those waffles look AMAZING….nomnomnom.

  13. J

    Congrats on the PR! Those rolling hills can be no fun for sure!!

  14. Great job on the 10 mile PR. That’s awesome. I don’t know if I’ll *ever* run a hilly race. Just doesn’t sound like much fun, ya know? 😉 And I also have waffle envy now. Thanks alot. Ha.

Let's Hear It!

