Oats, in Pancake form

I might have a borderline obsession with oatmeal breakfasts – I rarely veer from the norm, because I love the norm (oats, pb, cinnamon, etc).

However, yesterday may or may not have been the unofficial “post about PANCAKES” day. Seriously, I must’ve drooled over at least 4 pancakes pictures and unique recipes. Cue the craving

Saturday morning pancakes for breakfast? Yes, please!

Someone in D’s office gave him a box of Quaker Oatmeal Pancake Mix a while ago. So, my oats still stuck themselves into the morning! I’ve only ever made pancakes with Bisquick or my Mom’s Williams & Sonoma mix (both = delicious)…how did these measure up? Grainy, healthy, satisfying and definitely tasty.

Cinnamon Apple Pecan Pancakes
serves 2 (made ~6 small/medium pancakes)

Usually I love fresh berries and/or lite cool whip, or bananas and peanut butter with these morning cakes. But, we only had apples, so we made do. šŸ˜‰

1 cup Pancake Mix
1/2 apple, cut into small cubes
Cinnamon
~1/4 cup Pecans, crushed
(or one handful…)
3/4 cup Almond Milk
(or Skim, Soy, Rice, etc)
1 egg
1/4 cup Lite Maple Syrup

While D mixed up the batter (including the pecans), I diced the apple and heated it with a sprinkle of cinnamon for our topping.Ā  Warm cinnamon-apples on top of pecan pancakes = Perfection!

Now it’s time to go grocery shopping, clearly we need FRUIT.

6 Comments

Filed under breakfast, recipes, weekends

6 responses to “Oats, in Pancake form

  1. Elizabeth

    I had a dream about pancakes last night. No lie. So this only adds to my craving.

  2. I eat oatmeal pretty much every morning for breakfast, and when I don’t I eat oatmeal pancakes, so good!!

  3. mmm i want some pancakes!

  4. YUM. I love trying new flavas of pancake mix. Just last weekend I picked up the TJ’s pumpkin pancake and waffle mix. It’s tasty!

  5. Amy

    Hi Heather! I just started blogging and found your page and totally love it! And I eat oatmeal every day…my roommates think I’m so strange but I just can’t get enough šŸ™‚ I’ll have to try the oatmeal pancakes next haha

Let's Hear It!

